Barmouth bridge sur moto?

Cogs

Reaction score
A good friend told me with honest insistence that it's possible to ride a motorcycle over the Barmouth, Cambrian Coast Railbridge for a toll of a pound...! Now I've been visiting the area regularly for the last nine years and have used the wooden toll bridge at Penmaen Pool more times than I care to remember but I've never heard that before!

Can anyone confirm or deny said claim before I go and make a complete A*se of myself as sonn as I'm back over there?

was told by a local B&B owner you could push your bike arcoss it ..not ride..

still not sure where you could start this and never seen anyone crossing it. :thumb

They won't let you ride across it these days, despite there being a sign up with the toll for a bike :rolleyes:

'bridge too far'

timolgra said:
They won't let you ride across it these days, despite there being a sign up with the toll for a bike :rolleyes:

I reckon you're right there Tim---would upset too many of the walking fraternity---as a part-time walker I don't think I'd be too pleased hangin over the railings to let sum bikes past :p anyway the few miles of road on both sides of the estuary out to Dolgellau are about the best you'll find anywhere and not to be missed, especially from the A470 down to Barmouth---wouldn't like to guess how much rubber I've shredded down there over the years :)

givit :thumb

It may well be one of the nicest stretches of road but it's also one of the most innapropriately speed restricted (IMHO) AND probably the most heavily policed!

Lisa (my better half) knows only too well having got 3 points chasing me up there on a 250N some years back. She's quite proud really, caught speeding on a Superdream....

Cogs said:
It may well be one of the nicest stretches of road but it's also one of the most innapropriately speed restricted (IMHO) AND probably the most heavily policed!

Have you ever wondered why??.....