Nippy Normans supply Touratech, Wunderlich and many other makes of accessories. New and secondhand BMW parts.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 43

Thread: Taking power from the BMW GPS socket

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    273

    Taking power from the BMW GPS socket

    I've been setting up my new Zumo on a Touratech mount and thought I'd take power from the BMW GPS socket taped up by the headstock.

    After a bit of testing I figured out which pin on the connector supplied what and was soon siliconing the wires in place, tie wrapping everything and feeling rather pleased with myself.

    Before this I'd tested switching on the ignition - on came the Zumo. Switch it off and 30 seconds or so later the Zumo loses power and reverts to its batteries. Smug mode fully engaged.

    Triumphant I went for a test ride only to discover I had no audio? Having searched around I discovered this was because the Zumo was on battery power. It seems that whilst there is power when the ignition is first switched on, once you start the bike the voltage disappears.

    Is this the Canbus kicking me in the crutch (again)? Is it trying to talk to the Zumo, failing, and then powering down the socket?

    Still it's not as bad as my DRZ. Punctured the front changing the tyre and have given up on the rear before I completely fork that one up too!

    It's been a good day!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Netherlands, Zoetermeer
    Posts
    522
    the BMW GPS socket taped up by the headstock.
    Is this at the Balhead? I got mine hooked up there, no problemo!

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Location
    lincoln
    Posts
    134
    does every GS have this lead?

  4. #4
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Dublin sometimes, Riyadh mostly..
    Posts
    5,178
    I run a 276C from said socket, works perfick.

    Might it be the case that some Canbus software versions cannot sense very low loads and dicsonnects them? I read somewhere of this being an issue as regards running automcom off the accessory socket.

    Could you connect a small lamp to the socket and see if it stays on after the interval for which the gps stays on?

    Bin
    Multa novit vulpes, verum echinus unum magnum.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    273
    Quote Originally Posted by Bin Ridin View Post
    Might it be the case that some Canbus software versions cannot sense very low loads and dicsonnects them?
    I'd have thought if anything it was that the load to charge the Zumo was higher than the Canbus expects for that socket. Someone told me 'that the pixies that run the Canbus only wake up when the engine is running'. Thus I may have my wiring working until I start the bike, wake the pixies and incur their wrath at my voltage demands.

    I'm glad I didn't cut the lead that came with the Zumo. At least I've still got enough wire to run it back to a relay I have under the seat that comes on with the ignition.

  6. #6
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Location
    Braintree, Essex
    Posts
    592
    I got so fed up with the canbus system that I just wired mine straight to the battery via a 5 amp fuse also the bonus to this is that it dosent turn off when I power down.

    I also re wired the aux socket straight to the battery via a 10 amp fuse so that it is just like my 1150 used to be live all the time makes you wonder why if it ant broke dont fix it that BMW should think about taking on board.

  7. #7
    New Member (less than 15 Posts)
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Here and There
    Posts
    2
    Quoting from http://www.k-bikes.com/forums/archiv...hp/t-4648.html which describes the connector which fits this socket:

    "randyJun 7th, 2006, 10:54 pm
    I'll see if I can shed a little light on the connector. The connector number is X9349, for optional accessories. The connector has three wires:

    (1) Brown = ground
    (2) Blue/Green = Speed Pulse
    (3) Red/White = 12V

    The Blue/Green is a pulse derived from the speedometer pulse and very likely will measure around 12V when the bike is stationary. When the bike is moving this lead will have a pulse whose rate will reflect the speed of the motorcycle (each pulse a specific distance and the pulse rate relative to speed). This connector was first introduced on the 2005 K1200LT. This connector is also on the R1200RT, The K1200S and the K1200R. It is the connector used for the BMW Navigator GPS kit. I suspect the speed pulse is for future use with GPS units that employ dead reckoning like the Garmin 2650.

    The Red/White lead is ignition switched 12V with a retained power feature. The duration of the retained power seems to vary with the amount of time the ignition is on. Since this supply is straight from the ZFE (central chassis electronics module) it will be current limited. I have no direct information as to what the designed current is, but I am operating an XM radio and a GPS off of it on my K1200S without any problems. I will also soon be adding an autocom to this circuit and will be duplicating this setup on my GT. If you exceed the current capacity of the ZFE on this lead you could always use this output to drive a relay supplied by a fused connection directly to the battery.


    Hope this helps."

    Looks like you've hooked up to the speed pulse instead of the live wire. According to Randy's description above, this signal exists while the bike is stationary, but becomes a pulse once the bike starts moving. Using the correct connection works fine to power GPS, Autocom etc.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Midlands
    Posts
    710
    Quote Originally Posted by Firebird View Post

    Triumphant I went for a test ride only to discover I had no audio? Having searched around I discovered this was because the Zumo was on battery power. It seems that whilst there is power when the ignition is first switched on, once you start the bike the voltage disappears.

    Is this the Canbus kicking me in the crutch (again)? Is it trying to talk to the Zumo, failing, and then powering down the socket?
    I had a similar experience when connecting the zumo power to the back of the aux socket under the seat. It appears that the Zumo can overload the power limit set for the aux socket.

    I have the latest software downloaded on the bike but wondered whether the front socket has a different current limit and if the max current is set for the two aux sockets independantly. I would like to fit a front aux. socket so I can disconnect the Zumo mount and put onto another bike easily but am concerned that the front socket (once installed) may show the same problem.

  9. #9
    Kong
    Guest

    Navigator 3

    I have the BMW Navigator 3 hooked up to the same connector on mine. If I leave the GPS on after switching off the bike, it will remain on for about 10 - 12 mins and then kinda goes into sleep mode.

    Hit the key and hey presto - all is working.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Woking
    Posts
    3,595
    So has anyone managed to buy the connector? :-

    Part No: 83 300 413 585

    from a UK dealer - or is it an import jobbie from the USA?

  11. #11
    I just installed a powerlet accesory socket up front in the cokpit and hooked it direct to the battery - no problems with the Zumo. I was sick and tired of the CANBUS giving problems like this. I have my intercom connected direct to the battery too - there was electrical interference coming through the OE accessory socket which was driving me nuts.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Leeds w.yorks
    Posts
    334
    Moterrad Concepts is where I got mine (Dutchman)

    Chris

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Brighton
    Posts
    273
    Following further testing I've discovered the following:

    The pin that has 12V(ish) before starting the engine continues to have a voltage after starting the engine (around 14V). However, connecting the earth from the Zumo to either of the 2 remaining pins will cause the CANBUS to cut the power.

    However, earthing the Zumo to the frame will keep power to the Zumo and (so far) not upset the CANBUS.

    I can't say what the other two pins are for. I'd assume one is an earth and one is a speed pulse. I'm not stupid enough to fall off trying to get a voltage reading from the speed pulse whilst riding down the road voltmeter in hand. Or am I.......

  14. #14
    New Member (less than 15 Posts)
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Slowdown View Post
    So has anyone managed to buy the connector? :-

    Part No: 83 300 413 585

    from a UK dealer - or is it an import jobbie from the USA?
    I ordered it from a local delaer here in Dublin and it wasn't on the system, but fair play to them they dug around and its supposedly now been added to the ordering system (supposedly had to make a request to BM HQ for that).
    So I have it on order but no idea of ETA yet

    regards

  15. #15
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Weston Super Mare
    Posts
    876
    Quote Originally Posted by Wierd Bob View Post
    I ordered it from a local delaer here in Dublin and it wasn't on the system, but fair play to them they dug around and its supposedly now been added to the ordering system (supposedly had to make a request to BM HQ for that).
    So I have it on order but no idea of ETA yet

    regards
    Did you get it, was it the right connector and how much did it cost? Thanks
    www.MotorcycleInfo.co.uk - Free Motorcycle Resources & Information + R1200GS Archive:
    .....and now Multistrada 1200 Info Pages also! and loads more :-)
    www.MTS1200.info
    ON-ROUTE motorcycle route & trip planner

  16. #16
    New Member (less than 15 Posts)
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Dublin, Ireland
    Posts
    7

    Click here to find out how to remove these ads

    Quote Originally Posted by AndyW View Post
    Did you get it, was it the right connector and how much did it cost? Thanks
    Andy

    Haven't gotten it yet. Parts deparment are chasing it up but don't think BMW have given them a response yet. Will let you know when I do.
    May end up having to chasing it up from the states

    bob

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good"