Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 17

Thread: Quest and external aerial

  1. #1
    Deadhead Member Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Nottingham England
    Posts
    17,152

    Thumbs up Quest and external aerial

    My trusty Quest recently stopped receiving a signal so I bought an £8 external aerial off ebay to see if this would cure it.

    I just finished fitting it (subtley mounted on the RAM mount) and feck me it's locked on to satelites from within my garage.

    So I hear you say. Well, my garage has a flat roof, a sheet LEAD flat roof. I can't believe any signal could get through there

    Sorry..............but I was impressed

    Andres
    Supermoto's not a wheel size it's a state of mind......


  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    SE London, England
    Posts
    749
    Any details on make or model ?

    Is it a trader on ebay or was it a one off sale ?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Sheffield
    Posts
    142
    Quote Originally Posted by nick View Post
    Any details on make or model ?

    Is it a trader on ebay or was it a one off sale ?
    Yeah I'd be interested to know that as well

  4. #4
    I'm also interested

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Netherlands, Zoetermeer
    Posts
    522
    As I understand, a lot of Quest modells suffer from poor contact between the unit and the internal (rotating) antenna.
    Before you buy new antenna's you might want to look into the reason of the antenna not working.

    But on the other hand, external (often "active") antenna's do improve signal.

  6. #6
    Deadhead Member Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Nottingham England
    Posts
    17,152
    I'll post the details of the ebay seller this evening as we can't get onto ebay at work

    And yes, ECM, the original fault is defo the contact with the swivel antenae. I tried fixing it but with no success.

    Andres
    Supermoto's not a wheel size it's a state of mind......


  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    SE London, England
    Posts
    749
    Nothing wrong with the antenna on my Quest, but I find I lose signal very quickly, especially in cities.

    My Tom Tom based PDA does not suffer anywhere near as much, so I am keen to test if an external antenna would improve the Quest as it is a MUCH better GPS unit than Tom Tom !

  8. #8
    Deadhead Member Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Nottingham England
    Posts
    17,152
    This is what I bought, with a 90' connector for use in a RAM mount.

    Andres
    Supermoto's not a wheel size it's a state of mind......


  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Herefordshire
    Posts
    2,201
    Quote Originally Posted by Outtomunch View Post
    This is what I bought
    I got one form the same seller a while back. My flip up antenna is OK but my Pug 306 has one of those athermic windscreens that blocks the signal. Works very well, even with the long lead (It runs to the back of the car then outside mounted on the roof directly above the tail-gate) it as good or better than the built in Quest antenna.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Woking way
    Posts
    348

    is a power supply needed?

    does the antenna need a power supply - an internal battery? Or does it get power from the antenna socket on the Quest?

    thanks
    TC

  11. #11
    Where next Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Siorrachd Obar Dheathain
    Posts
    13,706
    Quote Originally Posted by Tomcat View Post
    does the antenna need a power supply - an internal battery? Or does it get power from the antenna socket on the Quest?

    thanks
    TC
    AFAIK all the external aerials I've seen (that are powered) don't have a power socket on them. So power down the aerial, quite how it's done PFM

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Herefordshire
    Posts
    2,201
    Not sure if it's passive or active, the MCX connector only has two contacts so I guess it would have to be passive

    All I know is that it works and needs no external power.

    Thinking of getting a 2nd one with a short lead and right angle connector to attach to the shoulder strap of my rucksack, will use it for track-logging whilst hiking with my Quest in a pocket.

  13. #13
    Deadhead Member Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Nottingham England
    Posts
    17,152
    AFAIK it is active - there are power consumtion ratings printed on the underside of the unit.

    However, as has been said, the only connection is to the extermal aerial socket so I guess it gets its power from here.

    Whatever, it works brilliantly


    Andres
    Supermoto's not a wheel size it's a state of mind......


  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    London, England
    Posts
    23
    I understand that you places the external aerial by the RAM mount.
    Having just purchased one, I would be keen on understanding where exactly you placed your aerial. Would it be possible to see a picture of where you placed the antenna?

    Thank you in advance

  15. #15
    depleted member ! Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Wes' Lundernshire
    Posts
    3,691
    Quote Originally Posted by Outtomunch View Post
    My trusty Quest recently stopped receiving a signal so I bought an £8 external aerial off ebay to see if this would cure it.

    I just finished fitting it (subtley mounted on the RAM mount) and feck me it's locked on to satelites from within my garage.

    So I hear you say. Well, my garage has a flat roof, a sheet LEAD flat roof. I can't believe any signal could get through there

    Sorry..............but I was impressed

    Andres
    Andres, I have been here before and posted same in an earlier thread when SilentG had a similar experience on his trusty ol' Boxer (1100S), this time we poked a high gain, self powered antenna behind and under his seat cover and 'bingo' satellites everywhere. Not sure why but sometimes these occur and defy usual logic.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    The Hoose
    Posts
    20,547

    Click here to find out how to remove these ads

    Waldin fitted an external one to his bike a couple of years ago... do a search he had pics etc... mounted on beak

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good"