Eastern Europe tour July- August 2012

jc_bromley

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi all, I'm planning a trip East, approx 4-5 weeks starting at the end of July.
The dates are flexible ish, but I'm hoping to be out of the UK during the Olympics.
Locations wise I'm flexible but would like to get down to the Crimea/Turkey area and/or some of Russia &Belarus. (Visas needed for these two)
I generally stay in cheap hotels(preferred option!) but I'm open to a spot of camping if needed.

I like to ride for a day or so then do a bit of sightseeing, personally I think old industrial/military is more interesting than your average art gallery....

Anyone thinking about something similar that may want to get together for some all or just generaly shooting the shit about that part of the world?

ta for reading,

JC
:bounce1

I'm travelling overland to Western Russia (Novgorod) at the beginning of June. It'll be my first visit.

I've no first hand experience but everything I read tells me to avoid Belarus at all costs.

I'm just crossing Germany & Poland then doing a circuit via Vilnius, Rezekne, Novgorod, Narva, Tartu, Riga and back to Poland - but then I've only got a fortnights holiday to play with.

I've no first hand experience but everything I read tells me to avoid Belarus at all costs.

What are you reading and where?

I travel there regularly and took my GSA there in 2010 with no issues it's probably one of the safest countries in the former soviet block.

Minsk the capital has good nightlife, the northwest has plenty of hills and lakes, the south has interesting nature reserves , more forests than you can shake at stick at:) and the west near the russian border has huge wheatfields covering rolling hills. The area in the southeast suffered after Chernobyl but the city of Gomel is fine if you need to overnight on the way to Russia.

The only inconvenience is that a visa is required but that is easily arranged via the embassy in London.