Turkey trip - help needed please

Dave56

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I'm planning on doing a trip to Turkey in the future and would like some advice. I plan to go via Italy and was looking at taking a ferry from Brindisi to Patra in Greece.
I was wondering if anyone out there had done a similar journey and whether they had any useful help or advice.
Is this the best ferry route from Italy or are there any better alternatives. Which is the best ferry route across from Greece to Turkey baring in mind I plan to head down to Fethiye.
Any help or advice would be gratefully received as I'm totally new to this level of pre-planning and it would be by far the farthest I'll have ever travelled on two wheels, also as I'm not getting any younger if I don't do it soon I never will.
Thanks in anticipation......:thumb

The ride down the east coast on the A14 is dead boring and IMO dangerous. Consider a ferry from Ancona or even Venice

Personally I would enter from Igounometsia and zap Greece by the excellent motorway in one day. Perhaps enjoy the Peleponese or northern Greece on the way home

I wonder what time of year you are thinking of?

Dave, as far as I found last year Ferry options between Greece and Turkey were pretty limited.

As Kritou mentions I'd not have a lot of appetite to a journey to Brindisi- also the Italian tolls are bloody expensive if you're looking to Autovia it.