Potential purchase advice sought please for a 2003 1150GS

Elmer Fudd

Reaction score
Apologies if I have posted this in the wrong section, but I am a newbie to GS's who is considering purchasing an 1150GS/GSA and am after some advice please concerning a private sale I have come across. As above, the bike is a 2003 1150GS which appears to have done a genuine 6500 miles and has had 2 owners from new, the current guy having bought it at 3 months old. It appears to be in very good condition, as you might expect, and is all standard apart from engine bars and luggage rack and side rails. It has heated grips, twin plugs and (unfortunately) the dreaded ABS. There is a tiny little bit of corrosion on the engine in a few tucked away places, but generally its pretty good.

The thing that most concerns me (apart from it being the light yellow colour - why couldn't it have been silver or grey!) is that although the current owner claims that the oil was changed at 3,000 & 6,000 miles, it has not yet been near a BMW dealer either franchised or independent for any kind of a service despite being 11 years old..... So would I be right in thinking it definitely needs a full service including changing all fluids etc? Assuming this is the case, what might this be likely to cost please from a good independent dealer?

Price is £3750 but I am confident that he will take a bit of an offer so maybe I can pick it up for £3500 - £3600 - what do you experts think please, I'd really appreciate any opinions/advice - thanks!

Sounds like a good buy at that price. They really are not hard to service yourself but a good independent would probably charge about £250 ish but a Motorrad dealer would be closer to £500 if they did it by the book.
Also worth while ringing a Motorrad dealer with your reg number and ask if there are any outstanding recalls to be done. If there are they will still be done even if the bike hasn't been serviced or is out of warranty.