Touratech Zumo offer

brassmonkey001

I should change this
Joined
May 18, 2003
Messages
17,890
Reaction score
2
Location
and this as well...
Just got this in an email today.
Dunno if it's a good deal or not as I've not been looking to replace my Quest despite it's 'character' :augie but thought it might be of interest. :thumb2
 
Just got this in an email today.
Dunno if it's a good deal or not as I've not been looking to replace my Quest despite it's 'character' :augie but thought it might be of interest. :thumb2

clicked on how to order and got -
The page you are trying to access has been identified as a known exploit, phishing, or social engineering web site and therefore has been blocked for your safety. Without protection, such as that in the AVG Security Toolbar and AVG, your computer is at risk of being compromised, corrupted or having your identity stolen. Please follow one of the suggestions below to continue.

URL: tred.cv.ua/promo/index.php
Name: Phoenix Exploit Kit (type 1112)
never had that from TT website b4 :nenau and nothing on there website about a zumo 400.
 
clicked on how to order and got -
The page you are trying to access has been identified as a known exploit, phishing, or social engineering web site and therefore has been blocked for your safety. Without protection, such as that in the AVG Security Toolbar and AVG, your computer is at risk of being compromised, corrupted or having your identity stolen. Please follow one of the suggestions below to continue.

URL: tred.cv.ua/promo/index.php
Name: Phoenix Exploit Kit (type 1112)
never had that from TT website b4 :nenau and nothing on there website about a zumo 400.

The spoof Touratch link tries to run a script but was picked up as a dodgy site by Firefox & redirected me to google
 
Hmmm - that doesn't look very healthy as the webpage seems to be hosted on some server called billysastard.com. I wonder if they've been hacked.
 
But their previous emails have come from [email protected] (a Swedish website) and also link to billysastard.com, so they're not exactly making it easy to work out if what's legit and what isn't.
 
Zumo 500's are available for £250, 550's for £330 as whitebox units with warranty. A 400 for £250 is steep these days.

I just bought my 550 for £330 shipped.
 
Just tried the link on my Touratech email and it goes to Touratech, just as it should. As noted though, a 400 for £250 is not a particularly good deal for a not particularly good satnav.

But then has anyone ever found ANYTHING that was a good deal on the Touratech site. I only ever use them for bits that I can't get elsewhere.
 
The link from the email is working now, but then again I've updated my AV and rebooted twice, and I'm currently running the Microsoft Malicious Software Removal Tool etc. etc.

I called Touratech and they have no idea about the problem (or so they say).

I currently suspect that this is either browser hijacking or a DNS redirection attack. But, strangely enough, my ADSL router died in a strange way last night (The Internet light went orange, whereas it is usually just solid green, flashing green or off)

BM001 - do you have a Linksys/Cisco router?
 
OK, it probably wasn't someone doing dodgy things with the router.

Have you run a virus scan with an up-to-date virus database? If it was a browser hijack that redirected off to the rogue site, it may happen again.
 
OK, it probably wasn't someone doing dodgy things with the router.

Have you run a virus scan with an up-to-date virus database? If it was a browser hijack that redirected off to the rogue site, it may happen again.

Yes a couple of days ago, all clear.
Are you saying you think there's a problem on my machine?
My Mrs's email account (Yahoo) has started sending out rogue emails recently, do you think it could be related?
 
If your machine goes to a different webpage than you intended, it could be something dodgy with the machine, or something wrong with the information it has been given, in this case, someone poisoning the internet addressing system so that requests for www.meint.se are sent to a fake website.

TBH, I don't think that there are many people that would write a trojan to target tossers, but it would be worth hijacking requests to Touratech's server, so I think it was probably the latter. However, it pays to keep an open mind and to maintain good housekeeping.

Regarding your wife's yahoo account, I suggest that you change the username and password from a known clean PC and then have a thorough sweep for viruses and malicious software. It does sound like she has a trojan, unless she has been tricked into 'resetting her password' by a rogue email.
 


Back
Top Bottom