R1200GSA erratic idle, misfire, pre-ignition, detonation, ping, knock and stall

CandyMan_ZA

Reaction score
Hi readers, I have a 2011 R1200GSA, it now has 14 000km’s on the clock, this is my 3rd R1200GS, I had a 2004 and a 2007 standard R1200GS before that, all have been bought new. I have a most peculiar issue with this bike that I am not yet able to resolve, let me explain,

As my riding style is to ‘blip’ the throttle when gearing down or when pulling away, for example from a traffic light, meaning, I give the throttle a quick twist to bring up the revs of the engine. I have been riding bikes for 30 years. Occasionally when blipping the throttle the engine 'misfires', it is as if one cylinder doesn’t fire or fires at the wrong time, it is very noticeable, and worse, albeit less occasionally the misfire which is probably more like a backfire (without the noise) stalls the engine, this has happened to me a few times while waiting for a traffic light to change, it changes green, I blip the throttle (before I pull in the clutch or engage gear) and it just gives a ‘kick’ and stalls. This also happens while lane splitting in traffic as I blip the throttle to make motorists aware I am there, or when I am doing technical riding and feathering the clutch and throttle, all of a sudden it misfires (or pre-ignites) and the bike shudders, most times it continues to run but it has also stalled on me on occasions, not nice when on a slope or crossing a river.

The other symptom I am able to replicate is I can get my bike (as well as the 2010 and 2012 R1200GS's I loaned while mine was in to investigate this issue) to stall on demand. I don't know if this is related to the issue when it stalls as I pull away or when blipping the throttle but I know this cannot be right.