how to edit and publish a webpage ?

(RIP) Kaister

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I'm new to web pages and stuff - haven't really tried before.

So - i've got a new webpage on OPTUS, my web provider.

Figured out how to find my address - that was tricky enough - i don't think they want you to do it so they can save space !!

Anyhow - did a test run and got the webpage address, however now i want to edit it and change it, add photo's - that sort of stuff.

How the hell do i do it ?

I can open it in word etc, but how do i save it back to the webpage ?

How do i 'upload' to it - files, photo's etc. ??

I'm stumped.

Phil,

What are you going to use as an editor. Word? FP or DW or something else.

If you are on Windows 2000 or XP you can actually do a save as web page in Word and save it toyour web space via the normal windows navigation system. You'll need to know the correct address and login and password info.

Really if you get into it you should use FP which has a publish button. Or my preference Dreamweaver which has a fully built in FTP system which is a bit like norton commander a few years back.

Meaning the web site is shown on one side of the screen and the local files on the other. All you need to do is drag and drop the files from one side to another.

Lastly if you do use word be carefull making links from one page to another as it might include c: in the address which obviously won't work for your visitors...

To copy files to your web page in Windows is pretty simple using "Drag & Drop".

Open IE and put the following in the address bar:

ftp:// username:password@ftp_address

which should then look a bit like a Windows Explorer folder listing. Folders etc. can be created and deleted from right mouse click sub-menus.

Open up Windows Explorer and you can drag and drop files from it to your web page.

Experiment!

Iain

Nope - tried both of your suggestions - neither of which work.

did what you said exactly - didn't work