nnew to GPS

Flying banana

Reaction score
Gentlmen, and Ladeez, I am thinking of getting a GPS unit in teh future, if I cann persuade SWMBO to let me havve one fer me 40th, that is!!!!

However, I am new to it all. Gis a clue as to what works, and wot doesn't, whats good and whats not.
I take it they can be hardwired into the bike (1150GS)?
And the most important questions, are they worthwhile?

Cheers chaps

Flying Banana

Flying banana said:
I take it they can be hardwired into the bike (1150GS)?
And the most important questions, are they worthwhile?

Flying Banana
Yes and Yes
John:D :D
Buy one and tell the Mrs after,
Garmin Sreetpilot 111, If your after door to door guided navigation in colour screen and voice(female) commands, then this it. or if you want the latest version then the Garmin streepilot 2610 is for you, but it costs more. Or if you want smaller but no colour screen then the Garmin GPS V is cheaper.

New to GPS myself, and have recently purchased a V, getting to grips with it far better than I expected and use it all the time, in the car and on the GS.
Would recommend one.
:D :D :D

Banana

Why do you want a GPS? Do you:
  • want a great toy that you can play with for hours and never get bored?
  • want to know where you are when otherwise you'd be lost?
  • want to be able to do the above when you're out walking/climbing/fishing etc?
  • want to have the unit display road-maps?
  • want to have the unit display local landmarks/gas stations/hotels/theme parks etc?
  • want the unit to be able to give you turn-by-turn directions to a specified point?
  • want to use it outside the UK?
  • go on long tours?
  • want a unit that you can also use in a car?
  • have loads of money?

Start to nail down answers to the above and then look at the
Garmin website to determine which unit meets your needs the best.