Picking up the bike.

simmans

I'm a 1150 gs newbie (bought yesterday) based in melbourne

I cant imagine how I would go about picking up the Bike from lying on its side.
Any help with the tecnique would be appreciated.

george

Get a couple of helpful mates :rolleyes:

Attachments

• upsidedown.jpg
    upsidedown.jpg
    51.8 KB · Views: 480
Welcome to the madhouse, two rules apply, pay no attention to anything anyone says, have a good,warped sense of humour and thirdly make up as many rules as you want:D
As for picking the bike up, adrenalin works for me everytime:beerjug:

George, welcome to the group.

When the 1100 came out BMW's official policy was to use the No. 1 method posted by Mark. However over time it became a bit of a problem because if one does lift the bike up with just the handlebars as suggested then sometimes one can bend the bars. They don't seem to have an official pick up policy, anymore.

If there is anyone else around always get them to help, they are rather heavy, especially with a full tank and a tank bag on top.

If on a hill then swivel the bike on the cylinder head by dragging the rear around with the other arm holding the front wheel off the deck until the front wheel is slightly down hill. The rocker box will easily handle this scrubbing.

By the way, where in Melbourne are you? I'm in Hampton East.

You could do worse than come along to the local BMW club service day, which is next being held on Sunday the 30th of November. There should be about 80 - 120 people and bikes there doing all sorts of things. You will definitly learn a fair bit about your machine there.

Mick.

Yes, whenever I've 'got off' on the road, usually about 10 people descend on me trying to help. The amount of swearing going on frightens half of them away, and the rest help me pick it up.