R1200GS or Multistrada

Rod

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I can't decide between the R1200 GS & the Multistrada. I have been riding sportsbikes for 16 years.
I am looking for a fun bike, both seem to excel on mountain roads
and both can tour. I will never go off road. Has anyone had experiance of both bikes?
Any opinions welcome ( non biased of course !)

Thanks.

which bike

Hi Rod,

I too fancied trading my 1100gs a year ago for a multistrada. Multi rode great, looks a bit different but I was put off with stories of expensive services (compared to BMW) and with my bike used all year and parked outside a lot of the time I wasnt sure the Duc would be as durable.

I love my gs but still fancy a multistrada.

IMHO I`d buy a multistrada because I just wanted it or a BMW for the relatively safe bet.

Or ignore all of the above.

Good deals on the multistrada (new that is) at the moment with a load of goodies flung in such as a performance can, but the GS is still the better bike in looks in my opinion...

Careful...

If you value any of your anatomy below the waist, take a look at the Multistrada seat....

Then sit on it for a while...

Then try and walk...

Now the REST of the bike? Mmmmmmm, yummy.

Multistrada is great but ....may not be for you if:

You ride in crappy weather all year
Your not fond of cleaning your bike
You like to just get on and ride even if it's been standing in a damp garage for 2 months

Bottom line if price is not the issue I'd go for the 1200GS

Multistrada

Hi Mate,

Get yourself down to Williams in Manchester as they have a silver 03 model that someone has traded in.

Not only will you be able to take it out for a thrash/test ride you will be able to have a look at the horrendous finish on the engine as all the paint is falling off, and alloy bits are all dulled.

Maybe a new 1200Gs will also corrode like this but at least you will be able to get it replaced under warranty.

Get a new GS you know you want too.