Rear brake pedal right down "Excessive travel"

GrinningGSer

Infamous old git
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
As per title , my rear brake pedal goes right down , with very minimal, usually no braking effect. Its happened four times now (One was an MOT failure "Excessive travel ")
(I suspect rear master cylinder failure, but hey, I'm an amateur spanner)
1200GSA. No fluid loss whatsoever ! Always fixed by bleeding both brakes and ABS unit (GS911)
1000 miles later, excessive travel issue starts again
So the bike goes into dealer, who understandably wishes to do their own documented bleed .
HOWEVER , I'm today told that they've "done a software update to give me more pressure "
Is there any way, whatsoever, that software can fix my recurring problem ?
They know that I'm stupid.
Edit : many threads on this similar issue

Last edited:
Funnily enough mine has just gone in for its MOT and was picked up for having 'excessive travel' on the rear brake (which I must admit was soft but to me bikes are known to have poor back brakes)

£27 later after they bled it and all is good so time will tell

But potentially it could be because its linked to the front brake that is why it goes over time (as the rear pad wears as well)

For some reason the LC rear brake seems to need regular bleeding. I also purge it with the gs911 tool, that makes the pedal much firmer.

This is very common with the linked brakes - especially (like me) if you seldom press rear pedal. It’s easily fixed with a rear brake bleed. I’ve been told by Motorrad to press rear pedal more often, but I opted for the Stahlbus speed bleeder and GS911 for the ABS bleed.
It’s a common fault that the Nazi’s will never admit to

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Intertesting Victor C, not that I understand much of that technical bulletin : It looks as though there are indeed software pressure set points

It would seem BMW are aware of this glitch and should repair inside or out the warranty period……….or even as a recall.