When to change the oil?

HeatedGrips

Reaction score
I've been changing oil and filter every 3,000 miles on my current GS, the one before it (and the Ducati before that) even though the service schedule lists a 6,000 mile interval.

My belief is that these engines are based on an old design and the manufacturers at one time had 3,000 oil changes but increased that to make running the things seem cheaper. I'm still using "ordinary" non-synthetic 10W-40.

However, I'm no engineer. So what do you lot think, am I wasting money?

HeatedGrips said:
I've been changing oil and filter every 3,000 miles ... am I wasting money?

Probably not - but you could do better.

Most engine wear occurs in two different scenarios 1) when the engine is cold and the clearances haven't settled to their design levels for when the engine is at normal operating temperature and 2) when the engine oil is so hot or worn that its lubricating properties start to fail.

To have your engine last to a ripe old age, ride off as soon as you have started the engine but then 'stroke' the engine until you have 5 bars on the oil temp.

Use the best oil that you can afford - I use a fully synthetic API SL quality oil (do not use this oil in a bike with a wet clutch) which I then change with the filter when it gets dirty - the measure of which I use the factory service intervals of 6k miles.

So buy a better oil and change it less frequently than you currently are would be my advice!

Greg

BMW say do not use any oil rated higher than SG, be it mineral, semi synth, or fully synthetic.

gavin said:
BMW say do not use any oil rated higher than SG, be it mineral, semi synth, or fully synthetic.

So they do, but go and ask BMW GB Head of Bike Technical and he can't tell you why - neither can the Castrol Technical Department in Swindon.

Greg