Suggestions for a cheap but good first dirt bike?

SpyInTheCamp

Reaction score
Looking for ideas for a lightweight dirt machine for local fun. Needs to be road legal to get there and back with a 'reasonable' tank range.

Possibly a 250. Certainly a 4 stroke.

I've done a bit of dirt stuff - did the BWM Level 1 last year - but not that much.

I'm after something 'reasonably priced', but also worth keeping for a bit and reliable too.

No money at present so I'm not looking for bikes just now. Just an idea of what to be aiming for when I come into some cash.

Any other (sensible) suggestions welcome too.

TVM

Kai

I'm no expert but having just bought my first dirt bike my criteria were;

Cheap(ish)

• 4 Stroke
  • Not tooooo big
  • Electric start
  • Reliable/common/cheap bits

Ended up with a lovely DRZ400, needing minimal work to make road legal, for just over a grand :thumb2

Having said that, wasn't there a mint(ish) TTR250 going on here for that kind of money?

Andres

DR350, even cheaper than the 400 :thumb2

The danger here being that before you know it you've got an ex-army ammo box on the back, a poncho, a big bag of pasta, some dodgy overalls and hey presto..... Mondo Enduro 2 :)

Agree, BUT.....it is also a bast*rd to start when its hot.

My vote would be the DRZ400, electric start, loads about to choose from, cheap as chips too. :thumb2

Never had any probs with my XR's (even @ Rosedale this year:augie)

You can't be man enough for a kickstart, Alan...........:D

The danger here being that before you know it you've got an ex-army ammo box on the back, a poncho, a big bag of pasta, some dodgy overalls and hey presto..... Mondo Enduro 2 :)

go the other way get an HP, forget the poncho ride naked and eat rice!

I'd go for the ttr250 is spot one not too big not too small and there's lots of bits available.

My 1st dirt bike was a DT 125...