BMW Course - Is Level 1 basic too basic???

Nico

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hello,

I recently signed up for the BMW off-road training for August 03-04 (is anyone going the same date btw? :thumb2). I have absolutely zero off-road experience so they signed me up for the basic group. Is this 'too basic' and possibly boring with 11 years of road riding experience?

Thanks! :aidan

Nico

I'm doing the Level 1 basic next week ... I wondered the same thing, having ridden moutain bikes off road an' stuff. But I have to admit I'm a complete novice where the off-road thing is concerned, and actually looking forward to being on the bottom of a learning curve ... and learning from guys who really know stuff!

I'll let you know how it went ... meantime I found this pretty informative:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpv3R4Nwy0g

I wanna be able to pick up my Adventure in one smooth movement one day ... not dropped her yet though!

Cheers

Paul

They'll divide everybody up at the beginning of the first day based on your level. They'll split up people with lots of road experience from those who are less confident on road.

I wanna be able to pick up my Adventure in one smooth movement one day ... not dropped her yet though!

Well as the technique to picking up a dropped bike is included in the first morning's instruction(and you'll get many other chances to further hone the technique, possibly in challenging situations) I suspect you're in exactly the right place. :thumb

And FWIW, I was told I was in the 'Basic' group but I did everything that's mentioned in the Advanced syllabus :nenau

I'll let you know how it went ... meantime I found this pretty informative:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dpv3R4Nwy0g

Cheers

Paul[/QUOTE]

Blimey, haven't seen this for a long time. 'twas nearly five years ago. Shot and edited the whole thing. Still got the rushes in a box. Hmmm... there's still a master tape I never had sent back.