Stud extractor ... wassat then ?

oblertone

Strawberry fields ... forever
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I'm replacing the exhaust (and other bits) on my MT350/500 hybrid and have a stuck exhaust manifold stud.

I'm no mechanic but I've heard of things called 'stud extractors' so it seems these might come in handy in my predicament; problem being, I havent (knowingly) got one and don't know how they work so a few simple questions:

1) Do they come in sizes or is it 'one-size-fits-all'
2) How do they work
3) Are there different types

The stud in question is not broken or damaged, just immoveable using the 'two-nut' technique. I don't mind if it gets damaged on extraction as I'll fit new ones anyway, just need to get the bloody thing out !

Answers on a postcard please ... or on here :augie

mixture of 3in1 oil and vinegar, use small brush to work in, leave for around an hour, gentle heat with gas blow lamp on the actual head around but trying not to directly heat the stud, and try the 2 nut system again.
Stud extractors :mad::mad: Stud butchers and snapoffs is my experience :mad:

If it`s not broken or damaged, why are you wanting and trying to remove it ??

P.S. Stud extractors do indeed come in different sizes and types.....and as Proff has already said....if the 2 nut method hasn`t worked,you`re en route to shearing off a stud with any other non heating/penetrating fluid method.

If it`s not broken or damaged, why are you wanting and trying to remove it ??

P.S. Stud extractors do indeed come in different sizes and types.....and as Proff has already said....if the 2 nut method hasn`t worked,you`re en route to shearing off a stud with any other non heating/penetrating fluid method.

wot he said.

stud extractors are very much a last resort, and any use of them usually ends in tears.

Without stating the obvious, have you tried tightening it a bit first. Sometimes its just enough to loosen it's grip.

A little light ...