Newbie from Stamford, Lincs

Poacher

Hi all, I am new on here and looking to buy my first bike in many, many years. I am also currently taking my bike test so I am a newbie extraordinaire!! The GS is top of my list; does any one think that it would be a bad choice for someone who last rode when radio Caroline was rocking and so was my Yamaha FS1E? I will really value and be grateful for all opinions.

I am also keen to network with you tossers when I am a qualified as I am not an owner yet. I am looking for an 1150 GS with full bars, box, panniers, tank bag and as much bling as possible preferably under 5 - 6 years old with relatively low mileage. If the owner loved cleaning and hated riding it then that would be a bonus. Do any of you know of such an example?

Finally, I am from Lincolnshire, home of the finest produce in the land and confident that I am capable and resourced to make a valuable contribution to the social calendar in time.

In the meantime, just remember summer is around the corner and whilst you are polishing I am bike less but my Cobb is always smoking !!

howdee, welcome aboard:)

if you aint rode in such a long time, a 1150gsa could be a tad on the big side (read heavy) if your not used to it.
You cant even go test ride one yet:eek, im sure that time will come for you though.

smokin cobb:cool, sounds like a passtime everyone should try

Welcome along Poacher, all the best with the test..............:thumb
I`d be a bit carefull of buying a fully kitted 1150GSA, as to the weight, What about looking at a second hand 800GS or the lighter 1150GS.
I`m just down the road in Peterborugh, so let us know when you`ve got yourself sorted with a GS. Good luck.

High Five to elevensies my first reply. A few people that know me well and ride bikes have said that the 1150 is ideal for me. I am quite physically fit but a large bloke and if I sat on a CBR I would look like I have a moped stuffed up my arse.