Roadsmart 2 vs Road Pilot 3, any preferences?

mr_magicfingers

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Tyres need replacing on the 1150. Had roadsmarts on for the past year, considering RP3's as an alternative after seeing some good reviews. Purely road tyres, commute every day in all weathers so wet grip is important.

Anyone had experience of both and offer an opinion on one over the other.

Tyres need replacing on the 1150. Had roadsmarts on for the past year, considering RP3's as an alternative after seeing some good reviews. Purely road tyres, commute every day in all weathers so wet grip is important.

Anyone had experience of both and offer an opinion on one over the other.

Both fine tyres, but I prefer the Roadsmart 2, but that comes back to personal choice.

I've got some experience of the PR3. One of the best tyres that I've tried and brilliant in the wet. Very expensive though and they simply do not last. I ended up going back to PR2's - although next time I may go for a PR3 on the front and PR2 on the rear.

I have RP3s on my 1150 this summer. Wear rate on the rear is about the same as the Bridgestones I used last year. I reckon I will get between 4 and 5 thousand miles from the rear. Roads here are more abrasive than in the UK, they have a few more bends per mile too. The centre of the rear is hardly worn at 3,800 miles but the edges are another story! I got about 50% more mileage per tyre in the UK.

The appear to grip forever and give me lots of confidence, I've not much experience of them in the wet though.

John

I found Roadsmarts edge it in the dry and PR3's in the wet but there's little in it.

My GS is purely road. and will wear Tourances as long as they're available.

My K-GT wears PR3's and will wear them as long as they're available.

Just back from a damp week in Der Eifel/Ardenne and the GS wearing Tourance (originals) never put a foot wrong.