A plea from a newbie

judgeged

Hi guys and girls im a newbie to the forum and ive joined to tell the whole world that after waiting for three yrs ive got a GS1150(well i pick it up Sat the 14th) ive got rid of my TR...ph Ti..r and got a proper bike.
Im riding my bike round normandy at the start of june (i sail at midnight on the 4th june and arrive in cherbourg at 0630 on the 5th) This is my first trip abroad as a rider (ive only been abroad on holiday once before and that was to my brothers in Germany) ive got a lot of riding experience over here(plus im an ex bike mechanic) but not abroad.My hotels are about 80 miles from cherbourg im staying at one for a few days then going down to near Mont St Michel for a few days then home.The first few days will be round the invasion beach area, including pegasus bridge then the rest will just be a holiday wander round a small bit of France.Ive tried to tie my visit in with the commemorations of D Day the 6th june so any help would be greatfully received
I'm going alone as my good lady has decided that she'd rather decorate the hall,stairs and landing instead of comming to france to "look at bullets for a week"?????
the type of adivce i need is more traffic orientated than anything else but i will accept all responses with open arms thanks guys and i'll report back when i come home to let you all know how i got on

ps ive got Sat Nav so i dont need directions(i may starve to death or freeze to death due to the lack of language) but at least i'll know where i am when i die)
Thanks again guys
Ged (lancashire)

I've done the Invasion Beaches several times, landing at Cherborg and leaving from Le Havre. Before breakfast you'll have time to ride down the eastern side of the peninsula and visit Utah Beach, then head inland to St Mere Eglise where you can park next to the church and have breakfast at the bar round the corner. By then, the US Airborne museum should be open.