decent camping mat/mattress

Pint6x

I've been using an airbed for many years under the mistaken impression that it would be very comfortable as a camping bed. It isn't.

Could some experienced types recommend me something more comfortable ? is a thicker airbed the way to go or are those foam roll-up thingies any good ? The kids seem to get on with them but I've always shunned them because they're very thin (the foam mattresses not the kids...)

I used to use the heavy rubber inflatable materass which was comfortable but was heavy and you neede to carry a pump which added to the bulk.

I finally did some looking into this properly and tested a few out. Les from travel dri very kindly let me try a couple out and I was impressed with the Exped down air but ended up buying the Exped SIM (Self Inflating Materass - similar to Thermarest).

Very comfy, very light (compared to what I was used to) packs down well no pump and no effort to use.

Not cheap but they should last me a good long time.

we have the ortlieb self inflating roll up things from les. we find them pretty comfy & they don't absorb water when your tent leaks.

Shag the wife more ....... :D

Then she'll get 'airbed' burns....

fairs fair and all that...

but seriously - try a hotel. ?

Phil...

Exped down filled mattress.

The man Les does 'em.
I paid £80.00 for mine from a shop in Settle.

Use the storage sack to pump it up - not to hard:eyebrow, soft & warm.
Packs up very small - large bag of sugar.

If your going to the Hog. I believe Les does a try before you buy thing.

They ain't that wide though - no offense intended:D

Steve

Phil

As has already been said, Les at Travel-Dri is THE man for assistance in this area & he has lent me (and others) on a 'try it first' basis. Don't be put off by the apparent 'thiness' of these modern beds - they are nevertheless very comfortable & give better support than a basic airbed.