What GS bits are essential?

James

Hi everyone,
My lovely wife is going to buy me a GS for my 40th at the end of the year (Yes she does spoil me!). I am new to BMW's and would like advice on whether the essential bits my BMW Dealer tells me I must have like: Heated Grips, ABS, Adventurer Screen etc etc are best bought from source or obtained elsewhere? I would also ask whether there are any other goodies I MUST have for the bike whilst my wifes got her cheque book out?

Not sure about the essentials but if your wife is ever thinking about a change in husband would you ask her to give me a ring!!!!:D :D :D :D

Errrr James,
Have you looked at the
GS Mods
and
Equipment and toys
forums yet??

Hope you're in no hurry to place your order, because you're not going to be done reading all about GS kit the first few days!

And don't forget to :bow Thank the Lord for a wife like that!

Welcome to the Amazing World of GS Toys, heheh :beerjug:

Greetings,
Michel

James . . . if you're going to have ABS and Heated grips then the ABS has to be ordered with the bike. It's best to order the heated grips with the bike as well - you get a lot more for your money than the grips (switch gear, more powerful alternator and battery etc). You will not save money or get better after-market. Get BMW handguards as well. You can by Touratech ones later but the BMW ones look good, work, and aren't expensive.

Don't bother with the Adventure screen. You will read plenty about screens on this BB and there's no guarantee the Adventure screen will suit you any more than the standard screen (plus it's not adjustable).

Other BMW options are largely cosmetic (black engine, clear indicator lenses with orange bulbs, etc.). It's worth getting pannier rails fitted even if you don't buy panniers straight away - you can often pick up good BMW panniers for the GS 2nd hand. Don't buy BMW engine bars, the aftermarket offerings are better.