Switzerland Ski Resort Advice please

Bateman

Reaction score
I have an opportunity to leave my children with the in-laws for a week at the beginning of march and go skiing with my wife. There are some limitations in that I can only go to Swizerland so, assuming that, can anyone recommend a nice resort. I am a beginner (been skiing once before), my wife is an intermediate, I don't necessarily need great nightlife - just good skiing for our abilities. At the moment, the best option that suits me price wise is Saas Fee but I have read mixed reports. The other option I have looked at is Grindelwald as it offers a flight from Southampton and relatively quick transfer. The restrictions I mention are because I am paying in Tesco Clubcard vouchers, which means I can only book from one particular Swiss brochure.

swizerland is one of the few popular ski destinations i've rarely visited so my info is a bit limited...

only place i've ever stayed in is morgin, you could ski france & italy as well from there. bit low, but very nice.

we are planning on going around the same sort of time as you, maybe even swizerland as mrs cookie works there. if you need local info, she may be able to help.

her colleagues recommend davos, but i fancy zermatt :rolleyes:

OK

Saas Fee is fine ... quite pricey. I thought the pistes were really badly prepared
Zermatt - great resort very expensive
Davos Klosters - rated as 10/10 in a recent snowboarding mag. I'll go there tomorrow
Flims Laax - not very british, and probably wont be in you brochure. The skiing are is excellent. The twon sort of spread out. It is a big "core" boarding centre , with a nightlife to suit. My favourite
I know very little about Grindlewald, other than Wengen, which is meant to be good, and Kensington on the slopes
Skt Moritz - too pricey, to goddam far from anywhere
Arosa - grat family resort, thought the drive there is vomit inducing because of the amount of hairpins!