can you do it in three days???

samgeo

Looking at trying Scotland for a weekend run, is it possible to hit the right spots in just three days, leaving junction 16 M6 Friday around 2pm and off to the bestparts. Help needed here as i dont know what to expect or which way to head. Total novice on this but have Adv and need to put it to the test sooner rather than later especialy as i have a weekend pass from she who must be obeyed. No she ain't coming. :beerjug:

Eyup fella,

Welcome aboard :beerjug:

You`ll only scratch the surface of Scotland in a weekend,mate...maybe Dumfries area for the first night...or on towards Fort William ( you`ve GOT to do the road to Mallaig ) and Spean Bridge.

Just remember that however far you go,you need to get back in time,too....

It`s not really enough time,but you`ll defo go back again... :bow

I rode from Cambridge to Glenco, then Lochinver, then back over a long weekend.

Flippin long way, no time to do anything except ride all day.

stay in the Drovers hotel - A82 north end of Loch Lomond, about 3 or 4 hours from J16 - fri / sat great night open fire, band - then fort william via glencoe, keep going north - over to skye via A87 past eilan donan (?) castle.

all good - depends on weather - i did drovers to jo'groats to swales in a day but the weather was fine. Use the A9 to return south it's much quicker

just heard both glasgow airports closed with snow - pack some thick socks

You may get a "flavour" and that will surely get you back there time and time again...

:beerjug:

My dad lives in Dallbeatie and I'll ride there on a Friday eveing from StAlbans so from J16 of the M6 you've got a nice head start.

You want to enjoy the roads in the light so I reckon first night Castle Douglas area, the ride up to Ayre and get the ferry north of there forgot the name (dunoon?) then take ride to fort bill for the night.

Find your own way home!