Riding on gravel!!

Warthog

Reaction score
Reliving bike trips whilst sat at my desk....
Any pointers on how this is done?

As I am new to anything other than a gravel driveway, and my bike with passengers now weighs close to 450kg, I'm a bit apprehensive, and I have avoided any tracks like the plague so far (We're in Argentina, in case you are wondering), having already fallen off once already.

What is the best technique for riding two-up on gravel roads for any distances ) say about 300 miles of it!!

Cheers sheepishly from Patagonia

Warthog said:
What is the best technique for riding two-up on gravel roads for any distances ) say about 300 miles of it!!
Hi Nick, hope you are liking el campo, am enjoying your reports, ah yes the lovely ripio...

Ride relaxed, arms loose, don't stiffen up and grip the bars, just coax them, smooth throttle/shifting/braking. It seems obvious but concentrate, watch the surface, pick the best looking route, use your body weight, standing on the pegs can help (even two-up) in uncertain bits for better vision and balance. Let the front wheel wander and find its own way, a sensation that makes you feel you are NOT in control, you can sort of get used to it, but it always feels edgy.

There is a certain speed on thick loose gravel, (on the G/S loaded, two-up it tends to be around 40-45 mph) where there is a smooth zone which is fast enough to feel you are making progress, whilst the whole machine is floating and waggling gently to and fro, but steering predictably. Slower speed is more bumpy, twitchy steering and not as fluid, higher speeds just make you need clean underpants! :eek:

Every rider/machine combination will be different, but try things out gently and see what feels best to you. On light gravel it may feel good and steady enough at 60-65 plus tho' that can be just for a short bit before the gravel gets a bit thicker and you have to slow back down.