New Starter!!

Cestrian

Hi All - just a brief note to introduce myself to the 'ukgser' web site. I guess it will be obvious that I've either got a GS1200 or am thinking of getting one, or may have even had one?. Well I'm in the process of looking for one; probably a nearly new model (can't afford a new one at present) with as many extras as possible already fitted.
I've been riding bikes pretty continually since 1972, and have had many British, Japanese and one Italian motorcycles (Moto Guzzi Cali 111) which was a brilliant machine but wasn't up to the English weather. For the last 4 years, I've been riding a Yamaha FJR1300, which according to my wife, is a lot more comfortable that the Pan European we had before. However, it's time for a change, and we fancy someting a bit different - hence the GS1200. We have also considered the Honda Varadero and Suzuki Vstrom, but having got so used to shaft drive bikes, the thought of going back to chain and sprockets is not all that appealing.
I chose 'Cestrian' as a contact name, as we have recently relocated from Chester to Southampton, and wanted to retain some connection to a fabulous City. North Wales was right on our doorstep, and I still believe they contain some of the best biking roads in the U.K.:) It should be interesting to see what responses that generates. :D
Anyway, I would be really interested to know of anything I should be looking out for, or specific questions to ask when purchasing a GS1200, and look forward to joinging in with the forums/ ride outs etc, and wish you all a very happy and safe 2007.

Greetings dude...

Welcome and good luck in finding yourself a 1200. If you can, try and get a ride on an 1150GS or GSA too just so you can come back here and post a few inflamatory comments :rob .

A little way up the road from you but know Southampton reasonably well as I was at Uni there a few (Mmmm, quite a few :eek: ) years ago.

Enjoy...