National Defence Medal

:confused:

Looks like a rip off to me

It's not earnt, it's bought.......it's just a bit of bling with some jingoistic pseudo pride atached to it by the marketing people :confused:

This strikes me as a bit like a commemerative (sp?) plate, issued by whatever 'mint' they choose to call themselves. I'm sure the intention is good, but the fact remains, if it's not recognised, it cannot be worn on dress uniform and is therefore completely worthless.

Medals look good, and without doubt add credibility. But I'll stick with the three I've legitimately earned and leave it at that.:thumb

WTF??

As an ex soldier I can only think whoever decided upon this must admire our US allies!!! After all, they used to get a medal for flying over NI which they classed as a combat zone!
:nenau

Panzer's and Stubbs posts above are quite telling. In the UK our counterparts in the US (for example), are considered to be decorated for the slightest of reasons. Where in the British Forces, you see a guy wearing a medal ribbon and you know that chap has earned it. You don't know the in's and out's of what he had to do to get it, but you know he earned it.

I think our Force's would prefer that, rather than wear pretty freebies.

Today my son who's in the RAF told me about this new medal which is about to be issued -

http://servicecomm.peweb8.m25.co.uk/item15.htm

It's a shame it's likely to cost £45 though.

Paul, it's not real.

It's a Walt Gong and there are loads of them about. "Cold War" medal, "BAOR Medal" and "National Service" are a few.

They are mainly purchased by those who want some tin on their chest at memorial services etc but don't have any real ones.

Tis a pity but the RBL sort of encourages this practice as they allow the makers to advertise in their publications.