Two bikes. Three weeks. Five countries. 5450 miles.

Aidan1150

Nice but unfortunate husband.
Mod Squad
Reaction score
One of my best friends Jochen (Jockser) and I have been riding together in Ireland and the UK for several years, but strangely enough never further afield, so around Christmas 2013 we decided that we would like to do a loop of the Black Sea starting in Bucharest, Romania and travelling through Bulgaria, Turkey, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Russia, Ukraine, Moldova and back into Bucharest.

originalplan.jpg

Unfortunately, the ongoing situation in eastern Ukraine and the Crimea meant that we had to change our plan. Having grown up in South Armagh I initially wasn’t too worried about the Ukrainian situation, but as time went by it became clear that things weren’t going to improve and we would be wise to redraw our route.
Bucharest was fixed as our starting and finishing location as that was where our bikes were being shipped to so we looked at following our original route to ride the Transfagarasan and TransAlpina passes upon leaving Bucharest before turning south through Bulgaria into Turkey stopping at Gallipoli on the way, taking in Cappadocia and Lake Van in central Turkey then riding on into Georgia and Armenia, returning via the Black Sea coast in Turkey to Istanbul then back through Bulgaria to Bucharest.
Another consideration was to leave Bucharest and head for Serbia, Kosovo, Macedonia into Greece then into Turkey, but when we worked out the mileages it was leaving us with too much to do in the three weeks that we had. We also looked at going through Iran and Azerbaijan but the cost of a carnet for what would only have been a day or two’s riding was prohibitive. Azerbaijan wanted £76 for a visa and given that we would only be there for two days at most meant that we decided not to visit there either. So this is roughly what our route would end up looking like.

actualroute.jpg