Garmin zumo 550 map updates

garry a

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi all I'm new to the wonders of sat nav being a bit old school but I have a zumo 550 now and need to update the maps I don't have free updates does that mean the only option is to pay and get updates from garmin or is there a free way to do it.im not great on the pc so I would need detailed instructions how to as free normally means tricky thanks for any help

Last edited by a moderator:
You can buy them as a download or on an SD card, both from Garmin via their website.

You can also find download copies online via pirate websites, which some users prefer. Google: Garmin 550 maps, or something similar.

Depending on the size of the map imported into the device, you may well need to install an SD card.

The last alternative is to use the legal free maps from Open Street Maps, which are very reliable. Again, you may well need an SD card.

There are lots of DIY videos and tutorials on how to update the maps on a 550. Some are even pretty good.

Do hesitate before buying an SD card of maps from even a well meaning vendor on eBay. The genuine Garmin maps are specific to the device to which they were created for. There is a very good chance that an SD card of maps I create on my computer in my device, will not work on yours.

Hi all I'm new to the wonders of sat nav being a bit old school but I have a zumo 550 now and need to update the maps I don't have free updates does that mean the only option is to pay and get updates from garmin or is there a free way to do it.im not great on the pc so I would need detailed instructions how to as free normally means tricky thanks for any help

You can have a onetime update or lifetime updates.
http://www.garmin.com/uk/maps/numaps

if you are a pc novice i would advise against the pirate software and stick to the garmin download, as said above a one time update or lifetime maps will do you its up to you