Route to Zurich through France

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sweaty Sock

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I am a total newbie at this stuff (age 55). I have been to Normandy and Brittany by bike, but never further afield, and not on my own, until now. I am planning a 7 day trip to Zurich and back.
Can anyone give me a bit of advice about a route from Dieppe/Calais other than what Google gives me? I don't want to stick only to major roads, but will when needed, and I would like to divide the journey into bites of 200-250 miles, so need campsite or budget accommodation stop offs.
This is probably second nature to many of you. I have been calculating mileage/km, fuel, time, cost ferries vs tunnel, etc. My head is boggling!!!:blast:blast:blast:blast:blast
I am heading from mid Wales, near Shrewsbury so Southampton is closest port, DFDS is cheapest but has 90min check in as opposed to a 45min check in from Stenna makes direct comparison very difficult, even in the time of internet :rob. Then there's the option of a longer ride to catch the Chunnel/Eurostar/Le pipe but a shorter travel time.

So to sum up, you're going from the West Midlands (ish) to Zurich, how would you choose? Answers on a postcard... thank you. :bow

Pump your start and end points into Kurviger, it’s as good as anything at giving you some pretty good ideas.

Do the same in ViaMichelin, alter the settings to suit.

Both are free.

Go to the RiDE website; look at their Alps Special and / or other routes. They will have something. If they don’t then they’ll give you enough to get you started.

Your request is all but identical to another recently posted thread and several more besides as, not surprisingly, you are not the first bod to ride from the Chanel ports to Zurich’ish. Have a look at those. Rasher in particular posts up several good suggestions.

Here it is. You’ll need to skip past all the shite, literally.