Advice on Wunderlich Bar-Risers.

pieman42

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm thinking of fitting some bar risers to my 2016 RT.
I've decided I like the look of the Wunderlich ones the best.

Does anyone have these fitted? If so, can you answer the following questions please:
Do all the cables still reach without amendment?
Do the risers impact on the view from the rear-view mirrors? If so, how bad is it?

Cheers,
Martin

Hmmm...........the Ilium Works risers seem to get good reviews (and are cheaper!)

Anyone got these fitted, or even the more expensive Heli-Bars risers?

Thoughts please

Cheers!!

There are very few RT owners on this forum. I would join 1200rt.com or the BMW LT forum. Or visit and do a search, bar risers have been done to death on those forums

Thanks for the heads-up Casbar..............I'll give them a visit

I'll reply due to the limited response you're getting (we RT owners are rare beasts) but my input is limited as I have no experience of the Wunderlich product. That said, I did fit Ilium bar risers to a 2014 RT LC in conjunction with a rebuilt (higher) seat and peg lowering kit to significantly open up the crampt cockpit that the standard set up gave.

With the Iliums I had no issue with cables nor mirrors, so you need not worry on that front.

However it is easy to damage the switchgear's delicate wiring during removal/installation so take great care if you intend to do it yourself. Also be prepared for a struggle removing the OEM bolts. If you're unsure, it might be worth asking your dealer to do the work. Some will, some won't because of the safety implications of fitting non-BMW components in such a critical area.

One last thought, and it's unlikely to matter to everyone but as well as reducing the reach to the handlebars you will also be sitting more upright. Not necessarily a bad thing unless you have a dodgy back.