1250GS Rallye vs S1000XR

Urban Rider

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I posted this in the 1200 section but thought it relevant to post here as well.

So, i've been riding GSs of one form or another for the past 13 years or so. Started with the 1150 GSA SE then on to a 1200 GSA LC and now, most recently the 1250 GS Rallye. I've loved them all but i'm starting to wobble a little. Don't get me wrong they've all been fantastic bikes and each version has been an improvement over the previous version.. A friend of mine popped round at the weekend and he rides a S1000XR in the HP colours. He's added a few farkles and it has an Akra system (full) fitted to it. I heard him coming from the top of the road and went out to meet him and took a real shine to the XR. It looks great and the exhaust note sounds amazing even on tick over.. I really like the look of them and compared to the GS they look like they have the same riding position etc.

I never take my GS off road, it's used for the odd commute and touring holidays in Europe both in hotels and camping.. So i was wondering how the XR would compare to the GS for this type of use? In my eyes it's definitely more road focussed but appears to have similar touring capability although i'm not sure if it would accomodate all the camping gear compared to the GS?

Anyone jumped from the GS range to an XR? If so what are your thoughts?