Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: UPGRADING MY PC FROM WINDOWS 7 TO 10

  1. #1
    Retired full time bike farkler Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, scotland
    Posts
    1,961

    UPGRADING MY PC FROM WINDOWS 7 TO 10

    Im having trouble getting my email now using windows live as its not supported by sky/yahoo mail any longer, looked at email clients that are supported and none run on windows 7 , hence i need to look at updating os first.
    anyone done this recently for free. ?

  2. #2
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    8,220
    7 to 10 is still free last time I tried a few months ago and OEM keys are readily available should you actually require registering but there is little difference on performance if its installed without a key.
    Caution : May stop suddenly

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    South Cheshire, England
    Posts
    688
    Do you want to install Windows 10 from cold, as if on a new computer, or do you need to keep any existing paid-for software? This article https://www.howtogeek.com/272201/all...s-10-for-free/ has a few suggestions and, as far as I'm aware, a valid Windows 7 serial number will still work for Windows 10. What hardware are you planning to install it on? If possible I'd suggest a 64-bit version rather than 32-bit.

  4. #4
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Hampshire
    Posts
    630

    Maybe time for a new PC

    I did this recently and ran into a number of problems as my sound card and graphics card were no longer supported. In the end I got a new PC with Windows 10, I am really pleased with it.

  5. #5
    Retired full time bike farkler Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, scotland
    Posts
    1,961
    Quote Originally Posted by JohnnyOldBoy View Post
    I did this recently and ran into a number of problems as my sound card and graphics card were no longer supported. In the end I got a new PC with Windows 10, I am really pleased with it.
    Im leaning that way I think . Ta

  6. #6
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    8,220
    how old is your pc?
    Caution : May stop suddenly

  7. #7
    Retired full time bike farkler Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, scotland
    Posts
    1,961
    Quote Originally Posted by Andi_archer View Post
    how old is your pc?
    10 years

  8. #8
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    3,697
    You can do it for free as the others have said.

    Just expect lots of BSOD's and irksome issues

    it's not very tolerant of old graphics cards and low memory

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    South Cheshire, England
    Posts
    688
    Quote Originally Posted by Santa-2512 View Post
    You can do it for free as the others have said.

    Just expect lots of BSOD's and irksome issues

    it's not very tolerant of old graphics cards and low memory
    The laptop I'm typing this on is a ten year old Acer. Originally built with Vista, upgraded to 7 then the assistive technology free update to 10. No BSODs, crashes or the like. 4GB of memory and a cheap SSD and all works well.

  10. #10
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Aberdeen
    Posts
    12,109
    Quote Originally Posted by Pablo1 View Post
    10 years
    Time to treat yourself.

  11. #11
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    West Sussex
    Posts
    3,697
    Quote Originally Posted by Bear View Post
    The laptop I'm typing this on is a ten year old Acer. Originally built with Vista, upgraded to 7 then the assistive technology free update to 10. No BSODs, crashes or the like. 4GB of memory and a cheap SSD and all works well.
    4gb is the bare minimum for win 10

    It hates my bootcamped mac with a passion,

    everything is so slow on startup,

    its a bloatfest of usless process's and background stuff, that you cannot disable

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    South Cheshire, England
    Posts
    688
    Quote Originally Posted by Santa-2512 View Post
    4gb is the bare minimum for win 10

    It hates my bootcamped mac with a passion,

    everything is so slow on startup,

    its a bloatfest of usless process's and background stuff, that you cannot disable
    I also have an Advent 7204 which won't tolerate more than 2GB of ram. It also runs Windows 10 albeit slowly (ok for web browsing but I wouldn't want to start up Photoshop on it). A solid-state drive would have it working adequately well. What I suspect helps a lot is that both laptops were clean installs with no retailer bloatware, unlike the theoretically much better Acer from PCWorld that my brother regularly fouls up.

  13. #13
    Retired full time bike farkler Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, scotland
    Posts
    1,961
    well I bit the bullet and bought a new tower pc, 8gb ram and 1tb hard drive, so far so good transferring files etc.
    cheers

  14. #14
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Manchester UK
    Posts
    8,220
    Dont forget bookmarks,passwords and saved email.
    Caution : May stop suddenly

  15. #15
    Retired full time bike farkler Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Glasgow, scotland
    Posts
    1,961
    only issue im having is getting my Garmin Maps on, updated my zumo with new map, selected device and pc, device fine pc not updated, each time i open garmin express and select map options, re install on pc it starts but then just comes up error in express

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy



UKGSer is....

"a pernicious environment of toxic hostility" dean0n0 2019

"I have always known this community is full good people even if most of you cover it up with piss n vinegar" Chad 2018

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good" Kaister 2005