Rear anchor comes and goes

Smokeybus

Reaction score
Which is annoying. Only ever disappears when riding in a spirited fashion, (when its most feckin needed). Disc gets hot and brakes well dont, all of a sudden like. Bikes a 96 r1100gs abs model (which having no experience of i suspect may be to blame). Pads wear even, gets regular servicing by me, new fluid and pads made no difference.
Any light to be shed much appreciated.

Is the caliper sliding freely on the pins? Does the ABS function & was it bled correctly - I'm no expert on this model, but the system is 24 years old after all.

Otherwise, if it's not air in the lines/ABS unit, it seems the pads are somehow getting knocked back. Any play in the hub bearings?

Is the caliper sliding freely on the pins? Does the ABS function & was it bled correctly - I'm no expert on this model, but the system is 24 years old after all.

Otherwise, if it's not air in the lines/ABS unit, it seems the pads are somehow getting knocked back. Any play in the hub bearings?

Cheers for the reply. Caliper slides on pins fine, its been apart lots to try and remedey. Good shout on the bearings though again been there and checked. Pads never visibly knocked back and wheel always spins free too. Bleed properly you say. Hmmm, having zero experience of abs systems i couldn't say for sure. Pipes seem to bugger off under the tank! Ive bleed it till the new fluid comes through and it feels good, just always does the same again when cracking on.
Checked the front hose common fault spot today and that looks fine, would be alarming to loose bith brakes haha.
Tempting to bin the abs and run straight lines from master cylinders to calipers, not a fan of added complexity me.

Sounds like you need to bleed the ABS unit. The best I could find for the moment ............... https://advrider.com/f/threads/r1100gs-abs-bleeding.506531/