Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 16 of 20

Thread: Problem creating a route from a track - BaseCamp on a Mac

  1. #1
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Chester, England
    Posts
    2,309

    Problem creating a route from a track - BaseCamp on a Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by leedude03 View Post
    then convert to route, if incorrect or in need of amending to suit, as wapping has said trace over the bit or parts you require and jobs a fish.
    I have had no success converting a track to a route using the tool/button in BC. How do you do that?

  2. #2
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    55,439
    Quote Originally Posted by paul08 View Post
    I have had no success converting a track to a route using the tool/button in BC. How do you do that?
    PC or Mac, Paul?

    What goes wrong when you try to do it?

  3. #3
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Chester, England
    Posts
    2,309
    Quote Originally Posted by Wapping View Post
    PC or Mac, Paul?

    What goes wrong when you try to do it?
    Apple MacBook Pro

    I press the "Create Route from Track" button and all it does is give me a Route with the start and end point, and non of the intermediate waypoints/routing

  4. #4
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    55,439
    Quote Originally Posted by paul08 View Post
    Apple MacBook Pro

    I press the "Create Route from Track" button and all it does is give me a Route with the start and end point, and non of the intermediate waypoints/routing
    That is very odd.

    I assume you have the track highlighted in the list?

    Can you share one of the tracks with us, here on UKGSer, please.

  5. #5
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Chester, England
    Posts
    2,309
    If I start with a track, such as one I think you posted for the "Route of the Fortifications".

    I then imported it into Basecamp

    Select the track

    Then click 'Edit' and then 'Create route from track'

    The software converts the track and shows the route on screen. But in the Info Box, in the 'Via Points' screen, all that shows is the start and finish points. None of the intermediate waypoints or via points is shown. Which I assume means that, if I transfer the route to my Nav V, how can I be sure that the satnav will follow the route?

  6. #6
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    55,439
    OK. That is a track of unknown provenance, downloaded from a third party website. I haven’t tried it. My suggestion would be to trace over it using the route tool.

  7. #7
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    55,439

    Problem creating a route from a track - BaseCamp on a Mac

    Quote Originally Posted by Wapping View Post
    OK. That is a track of unknown provenance, downloaded from a third party website. I haven’t tried it. My suggestion would be to trace over it using the route tool.
    It’s odd though. I found Lee’s post with the fortifications route. Using my iPad (I am not with my Mac) I downloaded the gpx file and opened it in the Scenic app.

    It has a couple of bits where the Scenic app insists on leaving the track to bring in some extra ‘curvy’ bits or because it doesn’t recognise where the track goes or it’s trying to reconcile fastest time with ‘curvy’ but it seems to near enough work:





    I’ll have a go on my Mac sometime reasonably soon.


    The example above does highlight Lee’s point in another thread about checking routes, particularly those from third parties where some conversion (say from a track) is required. For example, I have no idea why the track - the broken blue line - appears to bugger about in Charleville-Mézières. The bloke making the track maybe got lost?


    However, by playing about a bit on my iPad in Scenic (basically I saved the broken blue line as a route) I did get it to at least appear to reproduce faithfully:



    This suggests to me that the Ardennes track should be OK and should convert from a track to a route in BaseCamp on a Mac.....There were two shoulds in that sentence.... I’ll give it a go before too long.

  8. #8
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    2,048
    is the gpx file you are referring to the one from this link https://www.visitardenne.com/fr/les-...fortifications. or is it the gpx route i made and posted up on the forum a good while ago, i think the one i created and uploaded to the forum is still on here somewhere. Found it https://www.ukgser.com/forums/showth...fortifications now this route i made by tracing the original from a web page and putting the way points in after i had done the route as you can see in the pic

    the track from the first link i posted is underneath the route in the picture so as you can see it is faithful to it, the points of interest (the red dots) however i had to guess to the nearest points they will be very close to where they should be
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  9. #9
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    55,439

    Problem creating a route from a track - BaseCamp on a Mac

    Lee, I went about it a different way.

    I found the Ardennes’ website



    Downloading the gpx file to my iPad, choosing to open it in Scenic





    The gpx file opens up in Scenic, but with some errors. I guess the errors were caused by the usual problem where a track does not match Scenic’s roads or because Scenic was defaulting to giving precedence to its ‘Curvy’ algorithm



    But on the whole it’s not bad and it’s definitely fixable, so I fixed it within Scenic by asking the app to convert the broken blue line track into a route, which it did:









    The original Ardennes’ website gpx track is now, as far as I can tell, accurately and faithfully converted into a route. You can see in these last pictures that it now follows the broken blue line.





    Next I’ll try doing it on my Mac.....

  10. #10
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    2,048
    Yours looks good to me, the track i downloaded from the same website did exactly as it did for paul08 in as far as when converting to a route it gave a start and end point and joined them together without matching the route (most odd) will see if i can see why, this was using base camp.

  11. #11
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    55,439
    Hi Lee, it is odd that Scenic on an iPad can convert (with a little help from within the app) the Ardennes’ gpx file into a ‘route’ that follows the original version, whilst a PC / Mac using BaseCamp cannot, only rendering up the start and end points.

    The data must be within the Ardennes’ gpx file or Scenic could not pick it up. Very strange that BaseCamp apparently can’t.

  12. #12
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    2,048
    Yes Richard most odd, and thinking back to 2017 when i first spotted this route on their web site i had the same issue, that is why i ended up making my own version of the same route,

  13. #13
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Chester, England
    Posts
    2,309
    I used the 'Track' and it showed the figure of eight route/track.

    However, when I click "Create route from Track" the info box opens up in the top left hand corner, jast as it does when I open any route. And the figure of eight route shows on the map. BUT, in the info box:

    a) The 'Via Points' tab only shows the start and finish waypoints. Nothing else is visible

    b) But clicking on the 'Directions' tab reveals a full set of junction by junction directions

    c) And the 'Info' tab shows:
    Number of stops: 1
    Total distance: 570km
    Transportation method: Car (my default)
    Total moving time: 11h 30min
    Course: 310deg True
    Number of directions: 423


    So if I want to use the route as a GPX with my Nav V, I would have to go around the route adding waypoints etc . I can do that as I check the routing calculated by BC, but I just could not understand how BC gives me the full figure of eight route, but with only 2 waypoints and no shaping/via points

  14. #14
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    2,048
    Paul08 it is just a guess but i think it may have something to do with the software that created the route in the first place, it seems that garmin basecamp is not fully compatable with this form of gpx file where as Richard's scenic app seems better, again its always a problem when using different software to transcode to and from other software, it does appear that Richards scenic app software deals with the gpx track better than the garmin software.

  15. #15
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    derby england
    Posts
    2,048
    Update i have found fault with the downloaded track or maybe garmin has created the fault when imported into basecamp who knows, but if you look very closely at the route in a certain area it just keeps going around and back on itself, i have erased that part of the track and then converted to a route and it seems to have cured the strange route issue. the issue starts just north of la chapelle.
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  16. #16
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    55,439
    I think you may well have found the issue, Lee.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy



UKGSer is....

"a pernicious environment of toxic hostility" dean0n0 2019

"I have always known this community is full good people even if most of you cover it up with piss n vinegar" Chad 2018

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good" Kaister 2005