Strange tyre problem

gspod

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Just wondering if anyone has had this problem or can shed some light.
I’ve been using Heidenau K60 Scouts for around 6/7 years now (highish mileage), first on my 1100gs and now on my TC, without any problems.
Just had a new set fitted - rear okay, front okay if I’m riding up-to 60 MPH but goes down fairly quickly over 60. I then slow down and pressure stays the same - doesn’t go down at all when parked up.
I took the wheel back and a new valve core was fitted. Okay now up-to 70 MPH then goes down as before but okay if pottering around at 50/60.
Took to wheel back and the valve has been reseated.
The guy who did it has done lots of tyres for me (and friends).
Hopefully it will be okay now but your thoughts are appreciated.

It might be centrifugal force that is tending to open the valve slightly at higher speeds leading to a loss of pressure. (Maybe a different brand of valve has been used??)

You could try some new good quality sealed dust caps which might help as the valve would have to overcome a slight vacuum in order to unseat itself.

if you look online these are not well loved. I'd never heard of them. So finding you have an issue doesn't seem much of a surprise

tyres are the easiest thing to buy that'll probably save your life and good ones make the bike fun to use. buy anything outside the major brands it will give inferior performance & for what gain? death or at best 30 quid in your pocket

you already used more than the difference fighting issues

its easier to see on car tyres as they often quote figures that'll let you bring the point home. but the performance difference for a bike is probably far greater