Gearbox help

Mark Hooton

Cymarcbikeparts
UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi All, Aaron (my apprentice) has got himself a lovely (and it is) R65 airhead (really, they don’t make them like they used to).

Long story short he’s got a gearbox issue (keeps sticking in the higher gears and not allowing downshift).

I’ve pulled the box out (as per photo) and my enquires lead me to believe that it’s a common fault and something is not functioning properly (something not dropping down when it should?).

Anyhoo, the box was full of thick emulsified oil (which I’m sure hasn’t helped - might just be the fault?).

At the same time the lad has purchased a new set of bearings and gasket (makes sense!).

Is there anyone we know who has the experience with airhead boxes who could a) replace the (free issue) bearings and, if need be, correct the non selecting issue?
2e1bbdee586984ea10531849d8433ace.jpg

Sadly I have no experience of this whatsoever, he’s a good lad (Aaron) and I really want to help him.

Obviously any fair price will be paid - I just want to get it sorted properly for him. Gearbox (as per photo) can be delivered and collected of course.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Mark
Cymarc Bike Parts.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Mikeyboy (Overland and Classic, Holwell) is your man between him and Charlie they could turn it round in no time.

Think the issues is the centering spring on the gear lever shaft:nenau

Mikeyboy on here. Or possibly voyager but he is in Scotland

The emulsified oil is caused by the speedo drive into the gearbox allowing water past the cable seal (the bell shaped one) Fit a new one on re-assembly and fill it with silicone.

Mikeyboy (Overland and Classic, Holwell) is your man between him and Charlie they could turn it round in no time.

Think the issues is the centering spring on the gear lever shaft:nenau