2004 Strange Servo ABS issue

Mark_C0

Reaction score
Hello all,

Firstly, I have taken a look through the many posts about the ABS system using the search feature and i cant find any answers the same as mine, also ive asked in the FB group and Google cant match my fault so here goes......

Thank you in advance in reading this, Ive joined the forum today after a few recommendations from the FB GS group.

For my history, im a very competent car mechanic with comprehensive mechanical/electrical and diagnostic skills so I will (hopefully) understand your suggestions etc for this post

My bike is a 2004 R1200GS, 25000 miles with servo ABS. I brought it last year, rode it 350 miles home and parked it up, thats where it stayed until this Virus put us on lockdown so I decided I will dedicate the time to it and get it in operation again for the good weather. The battery (15 months old) was completely flat obviously so i put it on a recondition cycle on my c-tek charger and within a day it was ready to go.
The bike cranked over perfectly for a few seconds and sprang into life.

The ABS lights where flashing as usual until its ridden to 6mph (or whatever it is) but this time they didnt turn off so after riding it for 1 minute i returned back home to double check the obvious things. Everything looked ok, brake light works on front and rear levers but i noticed that if the bike was turned off and IGN on, i could pull the front brake lever and the servo does NOT operate but the brake light does. If I push the rear brake pedal the servo and brake light DO operate but when i release the pedal, the light goes out but the servo doesnt. The servo will run continulously until the IGN is turned off.