Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 65 to 78 of 78

Thread: Basecamp not routing

  1. #65
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Posts
    264

    Basecamp not routing

    Thanks guys, appreciate all the support and effort. Getting to be quite a lengthy thread. Late reply as just got back from Wales, nice day out it was.

    On my device (ticked):-
    Europe DEM
    CN Europe NTU 2021.10 Basic 3D
    CN Europe NTU 2021.10 Western Europe

    I think the maps I have are everything indicated on that screenshot earlier. Western Europe. I can search and find Rome, Madrid and Paris on my map. Seems to show full detail. Whereas if I search Warsaw, seems to be basic map.

    On my Mac (using Garmin Map Manager), I have:
    City Navigator Europe NTU 2018.3
    (the drop down box in Basecamp, without the Nav V attached shows this map and global map.

    I seem to be able to search every city on my Mac. i.e. detail of Warsaw, and Wales!

    I do not have an SD card in my Nav V.

    A reminder of the original problem; With 2021.10 maps installed on my Mac I couldn't get a route snapped to the road, it was just straight lines. After my original post I then deleted the map, and now cannot reinstall it.

    (I seem to remember when I last updated maps years ago I could only install either a Northern Western Europe Map, or a Southern Western Europe map. I might be misremembering).

    I am beginning to think there is some kind of conflict.

  2. #66
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    59,308
    OK.

    1. You do not have the full set of European maps loaded onto your Nav V. Had you had the full set installed, you would have been able to see Poland and Warsaw in as much intimate fine detail as say, London.

    2. To load the full European maps onto your Nav V requires you to insert an SD card into the device. It doesn’t need to be huge, 8 gb will do. Just buy a new decent quality SD card on the internet, pop it in and reload the maps, Garmin Express will do the rest.

    3. I am at a loss to understand why you cannot load the up to date maps onto your Mac. My only thought is that perhaps you are choosing to store them in a place where BaseCamp cannot find them?

    I suggest that you get the full set of latest European maps loaded onto your Nav V. As your Mac will draw the full map across from the device each time you connect it, that - once you are sure they are there (remember, you need to see North and South) - will at least give you some breathing space.

    Then go back to Garmin Express and ask it to download the new maps again, only this time chose to load them ONLY onto your Mac, checking where Garmin Express says it intends to install them to. In other words, check that you do not have BaseCamp installed in one place and the new maps installed in another. This installation should take much less time than loading the new maps onto your device.

    When you get the sign from Garmin Express that the maps are on your Mac. Disconnect the Nav V, then close BaseCamp and Garmin Express. It wouldn’t hurt to restart your Mac at the same time.

    Relaunch BaseCamp and go to the maps drop down box. Select the latest maps. All should then be good.

    Use Garmin map manager to delete the old maps on your Mac.

    Report back..... hopefully with confirmation that everything is OK.

  3. #67
    The real Slim Shakey! Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    The Garioch, Scotland
    Posts
    2,643
    Quote Originally Posted by Wapping View Post
    Becksy,

    I am not sure if this helps but here goes.

    Having successfully installed the latest maps onto my iMac and onto three gps devices, I went to install the same latest maps onto my old MacBook Air. I got exactly the same error message as you show in post 50. I tried again, the same message.

    I unhooked my gps device, closed Garmin Express and restarted my MacBook. I then reattached the gps device and waited for the MacBook to find it. I then launched Garmin Express, which told me that there was an update to Garmin Express available, so I downloaded and installed it. I then asked Garmin Express to update the map on the MacBook only, the updated map having already been installed to the gps device previously. The map update and installation on the MacBook is now going ahead.

    It might be as simple as you needing to update Garmin Express? Have a go, you can't break it.

    Upadte: It has installed perfectly.
    Slight thread highjack.
    I’m not sure your Macbook Air has a USB port but maybe you could do this using the cloud drive;

    I do a normal install using my iMac. I get a lot of red error banners like Becksy because my broadband is crap but after about 5 days or so, I have the new maps on the mac and my device.
    Obvs, I don't want to go through all that again for my Macbook so;

    In Basecamp, Maps > Installed Maps Info > reveal in finder.
    Look for the files that have the most recent (and the same) date i.e. the newly downloaded maps and the updated Unlock file.
    Copy them to an 8GB usb stick.
    Move to Macbook and reveal those maps in finder
    Move the files from the USB stick into that folder.
    BINGO

    I can also put the maps on my wife's macbook using the same files but I find I have to do a full install to her Zumo in the normal way to have the maps properly installed on it under her LM “subscription”.

    Hope that's useful to someone.
    Pas d’elle yeux Rhône que nous.

  4. #68
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Oxfordshire
    Posts
    2,497
    Back to the original problem, which is Becksy's routes give him a straight line, we can't go further until the 2021.1 maps are installed on the computer. There do seem to still be issues with Garmin's servers, I was updating few devices yesterday and had to retry a couple of times - however, I managed to download the full European mapping onto another Mac and also onto 2 Zumo 590's.

    I'll make some screen shots.


    FWIW, I think the Western Europe vs. all Europe is a red herring, I had subsets of maps on my devices for years with no problem - if Becksy doesn't go outside Western Europe he has no need to install the whole of Europe either on his Mac, or on his device

    Quote Originally Posted by Wapping View Post
    OK.

    1. You do not have the full set of European maps loaded onto your Nav V. Had you had the full set installed, you would have been able to see Poland and Warsaw in as much intimate fine detail as say, London.

    2. To load the full European maps onto your Nav V requires you to insert an SD card into the device. It doesn’t need to be huge, 8 gb will do. Just buy a new decent quality SD card on the internet, pop it in and reload the maps, Garmin Express will do the rest.

    3. I am at a loss to understand why you cannot load the up to date maps onto your Mac. My only thought is that perhaps you are choosing to store them in a place where BaseCamp cannot find them?

    I suggest that you get the full set of latest European maps loaded onto your Nav V. As your Mac will draw the full map across from the device each time you connect it, that - once you are sure they are there (remember, you need to see North and South) - will at least give you some breathing space.

    Then go back to Garmin Express and ask it to download the new maps again, only this time chose to load them ONLY onto your Mac, checking where Garmin Express says it intends to install them to. In other words, check that you do not have BaseCamp installed in one place and the new maps installed in another. This installation should take much less time than loading the new maps onto your device.

    When you get the sign from Garmin Express that the maps are on your Mac. Disconnect the Nav V, then close BaseCamp and Garmin Express. It wouldn’t hurt to restart your Mac at the same time.

    Relaunch BaseCamp and go to the maps drop down box. Select the latest maps. All should then be good.

    Use Garmin map manager to delete the old maps on your Mac.

    Report back..... hopefully with confirmation that everything is OK.

  5. #69
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Oxfordshire
    Posts
    2,497
    Updating with Garmin Express (current version is 7.0.1.0)

    Plug in and select device


    Check the details page


    Click Map Details and then Map Options


    Click Install to Computer


    Install maps



    Here's the maps in basecamp - those on the device shown at left, and all the locations shown in the map manager



    Here's some of the routes and tracks displayed in CN 2021.1, no recalculation needed

  6. #70
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    South Cheshire, England
    Posts
    709
    Garmin Express 7.0.2.0 for Windows apparently (according to Garmin) includes critical updates. Whether that means updates that are critical for its working or updates that are critical of its users isn't stated.

  7. #71
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Oxfordshire
    Posts
    2,497
    Quote Originally Posted by Bear View Post
    Garmin Express 7.0.2.0 for Windows apparently (according to Garmin) includes critical updates. Whether that means updates that are critical for its working or updates that are critical of its users isn't stated.
    This is Mac, the version I quoted was downloaded today, but there do seem to be lots of GE updates released all of a flurry

  8. #72
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    59,308
    I know that having only Western Europe is a bit of a red herring, I just wanted to make sure that at least Becksy had the whole of the latest maps installed correctly somewhere and that he understood he'd need an SD card.

    The screen shots do indeed show the installation process onto a home computer, which Becksy says he's done (more than once) but the maps don't install, apparently. The as to why is the great unknown. I guess we can only wait until he's tried again.


  9. #73
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    South Oxfordshire
    Posts
    2,497
    Yes, I just wanted to put something up as clearly there’s something going wrong when Becksy tries to install the maps.

    I’ve noticed that the “map options” button doesn’t seem to work, and you have to go to “map details” to get to the installation page, wondered if that had something to do with it.


    Quote Originally Posted by Wapping View Post
    I know that having only Western Europe is a bit of a red herring, I just wanted to make sure that at least Becksy had the whole of the latest maps installed correctly somewhere and that he understood he'd need an SD card.

    The screen shots do indeed show the installation process onto a home computer, which Becksy says he's done (more than once) but the maps don't install, apparently. The as to why is the great unknown. I guess we can only wait until he's tried again.


  10. #74
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    59,308
    I noticed that too on my Mac. I have no idea why the ‘map options’ button no longer functions and that you now have to go to ‘map details’. I am reasonably sure it used to work. Good to point it out to Becksy.

  11. #75
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Posts
    264
    Yes, aware that the Map Options button isn't working and am using Map Details.

    Anyway, interim update. I got a Micro SD card, I installed full maps to the Nav. And my Mac appears to be currently installing maps to Basecamp....

    Will let you know the outcome in a bit.

  12. #76
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2016
    Location
    Warwickshire
    Posts
    264
    Update:-

    It works!

    City Navigator 2021.1 maps installed to Basecamp.
    On my device I have the standard maps plus All North and All South. (I can see a detailed map of Warsaw).

    I have been able to fiddle with a route using latest maps in Basecamp and it routes properly.

    Thanks very much Wapping and Berin for all your help and others who have chipped in. God knows what the actual reason was, but getting the SD card and installing full maps seemed to do the trick.

    (For some reason, it seems to be working more quickly as well, that may just be perception having had difficulties with it over the last few days...)

  13. #77
    The real Slim Shakey! Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    The Garioch, Scotland
    Posts
    2,643
    Yay!!
    Pas d’elle yeux Rhône que nous.

  14. #78
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wapping, London
    Posts
    59,308
    Great stuff. Patience has won out. A good team effort.

    Enjoy using it.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy



UKGSer is....

"A vent, a source of info, a source of bullshit, a source of humour and in the coming months, possibly a source of sanity." Big Lad March 2020

"I have always known this community is full good people even if most of you cover it up with piss n vinegar" Chad 2018

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good" Kaister 2005