Tyres for X Country wheels

King Rat

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I have been searching for some tyres with a bit more off road aspect to them... but 19" and 17". It is easy to get 21" choices, but the 19" front is a bit more limiting. What do people recommend from their experience?

Currently I am on Mitas Terra Force and Michelin Anakee 3s (brilliant on the road, thank you Micky, they are still going strong!). The Terra Force have taken me up some dry tracks with loose stones the isze of oranges/grapefruits and it was like trying to ride across billiard balls, bouncing around and skittering from one hedge to the other, despite looking ahead... I stayed on, but it is only a matter of time! This was only my second venture off road, so I am a total novice to not having tarmac under me. I didn't let pressure out, because they needed to perform on the road again afterwards, yes I could take my little Slime pump with me and do the adjustment, but I didn't have it. This little outing has highlighted that I could do with something with a bit more off road performance, without being totally uncomfortable and useless on the road (TKC80s, never again! I don't care how brilliant you think they are, they were SHIT, like riding a pneumatic drill on the road and they slid constantly on wet tarmac).

The only tyres I have found ot fit in my searching - and my searches only seem to bring up sales places, I don't know how you search to not get these sales outlets...
anyway Pirelli MT60 and Heidenau K60 Scouts. Has anyone any thoughts on these and any other possibilities please? My current tyres have loads to go yet, so I have time to research and consider.

............ (TKC80s, never again! I don't care how brilliant you think they are, they were SHIT, like riding a pneumatic drill on the road and they slid constantly on wet tarmac).................