ROUTE PLANNING/SAT NAV

Jackhammer

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
Hi All,
Unfortunately with my limited skills on SatNav I am unable to make head nor tail of Garmin Base camp., and from what I hear I'm not the only one!
A mate of mine is recommending MyRoute-app which he subscribes to annually and reckons extremely user friendly. Also on internet search Calimoto comes up as being highly recommended, but I don't know anyone using it.
Could I kindly ask for some thoughts and recommendations please?
Best regards,
Jack

Moved from ‘Travel’.

Your mate likes MyRoute, so what is there to doubt? It is certainly popular on these pages.

If you take the bother to learn Basecamp it's fine. Personally I haven't, so have been using MRA for a few years now. You can use MRA for free with all features for a month, then it reverts to basic features, which is still useable. I have a subscription.

I use copilot, pretty cheap, can cover most of the world, easy to use and to adjust routes so I go where I want to go. Taken me all over Europe, no data use.

Charles

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I like MyRoute-app. I use it to plan, never bothered to attempt uploading it to the SatNav

I like MyRouteApp as well.

I am also slowly learning BaseCamp, but I do find MRA faster and simpler to use.

There are some upsides and downsides.

On a positive note, you can wirelessly send routes to a Garmin Xumo....which for some unknown reason you can't do with BaseCamp.

On the downside, it's harder to save lists of favourite waypoints, POIs etc and incorporate them into routes. This might not be true - I just mightn't know how to do it.

Also on the downside, when I import routes to the Garmin, all the waypoints are basically shaping points, so I don't get a countdown of time/distance to a particular waypoint such as a coffee stop. Just to the end of the route.