Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Advice needed.

  1. #1
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    4,872

    Advice needed.

    I'm not all that tech savvy, so any advice for my problem would be grateful. I have a router supplied by the internet provider, it does not come through a cable to the house, and it is supposed to be
    with unlimited usage to my house in Spain, I run a Ethernet cable to my TV to watch UK programmes using iptv through a Mag box 254, I have Express VPN on my PC, ipad and iphone, but not on my router. I think that the service is being throttled at certain times. I have run a speed test using Ookla at diffrent times of the day and get speeds of any thing from 5 mpbs to 10 mpbs, it is Spain, so speeds not good.

    The question is can anyone recommend any thing that I could do to improve the quality of the TV which freezers at different times of the day ? I dont mind upgrading the router or any thing else that may help.

    Many thanks in advance for you help.

  2. #2
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Essex
    Posts
    524
    For someone saying they are not tech savvy I think you are doing pretty well.

    I'm guessing that the modem provided is and ADSL Modem / Router combined. Is that branded with the \internet \providers logo, or seem a generic off the shelf unit?

    It is possible the throttling would happen what ever your set up, it is possible you are throttled at particular times, or possible you are throttled after reaching a certain download limit. If you are thinking you are being slowed because you have the VPN, you could try testing your download speed with that VPN enabled, and with it off to seee if there is a an apparent difference by your provider. I'm sure Express VPN are a decent sized provider, but is it possible that particular node you are connected to is the bottleneck? I appreciate you say your TV is on box, and you don't mention that using the VPN, but for your computer etc, it's s possibility.

    If you have an ADSL Modem, it might be possible to change that for a 'better' adsl modem, a number such as some ASUS ones allow you to set the VPN on the router, so all devices connected to that are automatically routed through the VPN. That might improve your situation.

    Do you have any friends / neighbours on the same provider? Do they have a similar issue?

    An updated modem might help, but perhaps someone with experience of what you have done in a similar situation will be along soon.

    Let us know what your current modem is with a photo if possible brand/model, it may help.

    Good luck though, and remember it could be worse, your name could be Att, and the top of a mountain without any internet

  3. #3
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Bedfordshire, England
    Posts
    3,530
    This may answer the throttling problem.......... https://libertyshield.kayako.com/art...ith-vpn-router

    Once your streaming traffic is concealed behind a VPN, you may find the old 254 Mag box needs upgrading.

  4. #4
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Gloucester
    Posts
    4,029
    If it is anything like the uk then you contation ratio issue to deal with as well, roughly that means (very rough) there is 100meg delivered to an area, now if there are 20 households connected to that line the ratio is 20:1 in the uk it often used to be 50:1, so when you are the only person accessing the net you can utilize all 100 meg, however if 5 are on the net you get to utilize only 20% of that 100, if 20 are all on line at the same time it can slow down to a crawl, and general happens at fairly regular times.
    Be worth checking what the ration is on your connection.
    ''Rules are for the obedience of fools and the guidance of wise men''

    www.thektmforum.com for all your ktm needs

  5. #5
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    4,872
    Thanks all for your replies... My router is a Movistar brand which is owned by Spain’s Telephonica and is the basic router that everyone gets given.

    I will disconnect my VPN tomorrow and compare the down load speeds with and without the VPN connected.

    Thanks all.

  6. #6
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    4,872
    I have just tried a speed test with the VPN connected and without the VPN and there is no real difference in the speed. What was notable was the slowness this morning, it was showing only about 3 to 4 mbps. the TV kept freezing so virtually unwatchable, the same as yesterday morning, which prompted me to start this thread. Last night it was watchable with only the occasional freeze. Looking at the Asus routers, they look really good, the model recommended by Techradar for best buy was the Asus RT-AC86U I wont be using it for Gaming ect, I just want to inprove my TV viewing.

  7. #7
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    The North
    Posts
    1,279
    "it does not come through a cable to the house"

    Does this mean you are receiving your internet via the mobile phone 4g network? If so then placing your router in different parts of the house and identifying where your nearest cell tower is and pointing it in that direction can make a big difference to signal strength and therefore download speeds.

    If you are getting it through your phone line then ignore the above.

  8. #8
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wandsworth, London
    Posts
    4,651
    I wanted to watch TV downstairs over wifi connected to my router which is cabled to the outside line at around 38mb and is upstairs in an office. I wanted to watch some iptv and couldn't get a stable connection, so I tried a vpn. That killed my speed whether watching IPTV or surfing the net downstairs on a laptop. Binned the VPN. At this point I found out that Sky had managed to prevent the IPTV channels working. So I bought a VR archer 400 router for £130. All tickety boo for 6 months. Then no internet. It turns out the new all powerful router had failed so I swapped it for my original sky router and all worked fine. Go figure. Then it started lagging again. I bought a firestick which connects wirelessly to my sky router upstairs, I then run Smarters 2 app through it and get a very stable FHD connection to all my sky et al channels now. So in summary:
    Your error could be a slow router, a IP provider that throttles certain content type in conjunction with the VPN. It's probably a case of try 1 thing at a time. PS I had a mag box but found that harder to get a stale connection as well. HTH

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    suffolk
    Posts
    491
    Use a powerline type system. It sends the signal via the house 13 amp wiring circuit effectively hardwiring the router to the tv.

    I use Solwise (found them more reliable than Devolo).

    https://www.solwise.co.uk/net-powerline-intro.htm

    tom

    tom

  10. #10
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    6,417
    If your on ADSL you can tweak some settings within your router with some some software

    let me go see if i can find a copy and i'll let you know whats its called --


    and it's not one of those apps which changes MTU to give the impression of better speed / downloads

  11. #11
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wandsworth, London
    Posts
    4,651
    Quote Originally Posted by sanqhar View Post
    Use a powerline type system. It sends the signal via the house 13 amp wiring circuit effectively hardwiring the router to the tv.

    I use Solwise (found them more reliable than Devolo).

    https://www.solwise.co.uk/net-powerline-intro.htm

    tom

    tom
    they need to be plugged into the same circuit though

  12. #12
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    6,417
    Right found it

    https://kitz.co.uk/routers/DMTv8.htm

    either V 7 or V8

    you basically force your router to connect to the exchange at a higher or lower SNR -

    it takes some time to paly around with , but you can get some improvements

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    suffolk
    Posts
    491
    Quote Originally Posted by adventuredon View Post
    they need to be plugged into the same circuit though
    Mine are certainly not on the same "ring". The router is on the 1950's bungalow downstairs 13amp ring. The iMac I use is on a different ring in a 1990's upstairs loft conversion and the tv is in a 2012 downstairs extension. The only connection between these three different circuits is the consumer unit.

    tom

  14. #14
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Gibraltar
    Posts
    4,872
    Thanks everyone for all your helpful replies. The TV and PC are in my Spanish place, and the wiring in Spain is not a ring main system I’v been told.

    I’m going to buy a better router and go from there using the tips and good advice given.

    Again many thanks to you all.....

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Estaon, Spain (N260)
    Posts
    213
    Hi
    Who is your provider and what bandwidth are you paying for. Where exactly are you. I assume you are using a wifi internet setup which connects your home via wifi from a repeater. These repeaters are normally 4g based and depending the amount of traffic, many users, you can slow down considerably. As for the TV pausing this is called buffering and is a symptom on a slow internet connection. I use Express VPN and they have no speed difference with the VPN on or off.
    Another issue, can you access the router? Many companies of this type restrict access to the router and if you want to make any changes you must talk with the teco at your service provider.
    To sum up, I feel the problem is with your service provider so you should get onto them for a solution.
    Take Care

  16. #16
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Jersey
    Posts
    804
    First thing I'd do is change the password see if it improves performance. If other people are accessing your wifi the bandwith could be being hammered. Unlikely i know but still worth a try.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy



UKGSer is....

"A vent, a source of info, a source of bullshit, a source of humour and in the coming months, possibly a source of sanity." Big Lad March 2020

"I have always known this community is full good people even if most of you cover it up with piss n vinegar" Chad 2018

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good" Kaister 2005