New transalp

I reckon that will be a similar / detuned engine from the AT. But probably enough grunt if the bike is light enough

Piss poor attempt at cashing in on a good name.
It can't ever be a Transalp if it's a parallel twin.

Worked out OK for the Africa Twin.

I thought the same when they did it to the Africa Twin, mate.

Perhaps they got, and are are getting, away with it because of a new generation largely being unaware of the predecessors?

The only parallel twin that I have ridden and liked straight off is the Yamaha TRX850; all parallels should be made this way...
Something to do with the firing I believe, but I am no mechanic

The only parallel twin that I have ridden and liked straight off is the Yamaha TRX850; all parallels should be made this way...

T700 is similar engine design and it's a lovely engine

Weight .?

The key will be what Honda manage to get the weight down to. Will it be sub 200 kg ?
Will they offer DCT ?

With the majority of people who try DCT liking the system and the majority of those purchading DCT who wouldn’t go back I think they’d be foolish not to offer a DCT version.
As for Tarkas reason for using the name, isn’t that what every manufacturer in any field does with a successful brand name.

May be to do with the 270 degree crank on the TRX, which some say makes the motor feel more like a V twin, so it could be that what you like you really really like is this "experience".

May be to do with the 270 degree crank on the TRX, which some say makes the motor feel more like a V twin, so it could be that what you like you really really like is this "experience".

If that's the reason, Richie will like the Africa Twin with its 270 crank. :beerjug:

Tested one yesterday and was very impressed. Not so much with the high pillion seat that made it very difficult to swing a leg over!
1fb1091ee69762e8bf20954ca06b1b61.jpg

Last edited:
Any more detail on what was good/bad Pete?