MyRoute routes into BaseCamp on a Mac

Wapping

Reaction score
I am new to MyRoute but not to BaseCamp. The truth is I like MyRoute but don’t as yet quite trust it to run perfectly on a Garmin GPS device. This concern is maybe irrational and, as we’ll see in this thread, might well be something I can forget about.

There is a parallel thread where a fellow had a problem with a very long (a thousand plus miles) MyRoute route that behaved very oddly in BaseCamp on his Mac and mine but, seemingly not in BaseCamp running on PC’s. I have never been a big fan of mixing software products but I thought I’d have a go using a 140 mile route of my own, created in MyRoute and then transferred in to BaseCamp on my Mac for a trip I am making in April to the Ardennes.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/wuga5iudnxdq1ga/Day out - Wanne - CORRECTED.gpx?dl=0

I then exported the route (Save as, to use MyRoute’s terminology) as a Garmin friendly 1.2 version. I also exported it in version 1.1 just to be sure. It was then easy to import the route into BaseCamp on my Mac. This was what I found. The track, I have coloured green, is perfect. The magenta route is straight lines.

66522a25358e3671281ca5bc57950bf1.jpg

bf084a794b4c68d88a9ed1ff0be8d10e.jpg

A. The track of the route exported perfectly.

B. The track converted into a route, perfectly but was then very difficult to amend. Amending a route should be easy and straightforward in BaseCamp.

C. The route, along with its four viapoints (points I must go through) being the start, finish and two points in between, did not display at all well in BaseCamp. It was two straight lines, with the two via point flags. In a word, useless.

I think there are two things happening.

1. BaseCamp on a Mac is becoming increasingly flakey.

2. MyRoute is now built around transfer directly into a GPS device or a phone and / or into assorted app’s, like Garmin Drive or BMW’s Connect. It does not need to be bounced through BaseCamp on a Mac.