Nippy Normans supply Touratech, Wunderlich and many other makes of accessories.

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 65 to 74 of 74

Thread: BMW upgraded fuel sensor strip.

  1. #65
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    northants
    Posts
    3,766
    Quote Originally Posted by BillyBoxer6 View Post
    I didn't know about this.
    How do you access it, assuming you have such a thing??
    Look at the inside of the right fuel tank by the forkleg, if you see what I mean.if there is a cutout there with a bolt hole for a retaining strap then you can fit the back up oil bottle in there.
    79 suzuki ts100ern
    83 Honda XL500R
    97 Suzuki TL1000S
    99 Suzuki TL1000S
    06 BMW r1200gsa

  2. #66
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    northants
    Posts
    3,766
    Quote Originally Posted by BillyBoxer6 View Post
    I just paid 179.9 this afternoon.
    Out of Interest, is the "Supreme" E5 the same as the old E5, or does it actually have different Additives to make it deserving of its Title?
    Super E5 us supposably the same as before they changed the standard E5 to E10.
    79 suzuki ts100ern
    83 Honda XL500R
    97 Suzuki TL1000S
    99 Suzuki TL1000S
    06 BMW r1200gsa

  3. #67
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Lincoln (ish)
    Posts
    419
    Quote Originally Posted by Robbi View Post
    Can anyone answer post 52.??
    I had a crack at it in Post #53....
    現実は知覚の問題です

  4. #68
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    northants
    Posts
    3,766
    Quote Originally Posted by BillyBoxer6 View Post
    I didn't know about this.
    How do you access it, assuming you have such a thing??
    Quote Originally Posted by gazza12adv View Post
    Look at the inside of the right fuel tank by the forkleg, if you see what I mean.if there is a cutout there with a bolt hole for a retaining strap then you can fit the back up oil bottle in there.
    Quote Originally Posted by BillyBoxer6 View Post
    I had a crack at it in Post #53....
    The cut out can fit one of these if you have it
    https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/334433620...mis&media=COPY
    79 suzuki ts100ern
    83 Honda XL500R
    97 Suzuki TL1000S
    99 Suzuki TL1000S
    06 BMW r1200gsa

  5. #69
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Lincoln (ish)
    Posts
    419
    Quote Originally Posted by gazza12adv View Post
    Look at the inside of the right fuel tank by the forkleg, if you see what I mean.if there is a cutout there with a bolt hole for a retaining strap then you can fit the back up oil bottle in there.
    So there is, who knew?!! (Apart from you, obviously).
    Thanks for that, everyday's a School Day!!
    現実は知覚の問題です

  6. #70
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    northants
    Posts
    3,766
    Quote Originally Posted by BillyBoxer6 View Post
    So there is, who knew?!! (Apart from you, obviously).
    Thanks for that, everyday's a School Day!!
    So you have the cut out then.
    I'm intrigued now as to what your fuel capacity is. I wonder if it makes a difference?
    You'd think it would
    79 suzuki ts100ern
    83 Honda XL500R
    97 Suzuki TL1000S
    99 Suzuki TL1000S
    06 BMW r1200gsa

  7. #71
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Jun 2019
    Location
    Lincoln (ish)
    Posts
    419
    I do, yes.
    I don’t recall there being one on the 07 though.
    Mine definitely holds well in excess of 30lts but I don’t know exactly how much

  8. #72
    Subscriber Click here to find out how to Subscribe
    Join Date
    Oct 2020
    Location
    Bangor NI
    Posts
    1,564
    Quote Originally Posted by Robbi View Post
    Weird things happening !!

    Just been out for a bit of a bimble and the new fuel strip is showing a full tank ( it's not) and the range figure went UP the more I rode it, it went up from 197 to 211 over a 30 mile run.

    I think I have heard that it may take a couple of tank fulls to get the strip to "bed" in...... Is this the case.?

    Just spoken to the main dealer and it turns out that the new improved fuel strip wasn't calibrated correctly so I've now got to take the bike back again.

    I know it's not far but it's a bloody nuisance and I'll have to take more time off work... Nothing is simple these days.

  9. #73
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Berks
    Posts
    876
    Quote Originally Posted by Robbi View Post
    Just spoken to the main dealer and it turns out that the new improved fuel strip wasn't calibrated correctly so I've now got to take the bike back again.

    I know it's not far but it's a bloody nuisance and I'll have to take more time off work... Nothing is simple these days.
    O.F.F.S.

  10. #74
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    Berks
    Posts
    876
    I ran out again the other day

    it used to ride to 9 miles on the old pump without complaint - after they replaced that it would run out at 15 miles which caught me out... and then with nothing I thought last week I had about 100 miles left and it coughed as I drove by a forecourt... that made me wonder... then it stopped 100 yards up the road

    my new box of tricks to make the float behave with a ZFE basic rocked up 12hrs later.... and I temp wired to a fag lighter power source that kept jumping out and confusing the silly thing. There is definitely some stuff it remembers / takes in to account to create a reading... if the float is in half a tank and you connect it up that's the new full.... then you fill it up and that full becomes the new full (which makes lots of sense to me) and it starts measuring the drop .... but if you cut the power u start over...

    as it always took a while to update after you fill with petrol (on the old strip) I guess it remembers where it last was each time you start the bike and doesn't update till there a steady reading - so as long as the power is "always there when the ignition is on" with a float then it should be ok???

Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Anyone attending a Ride Out or Event organised through the UKGSer Forums does so at their own risk.
UKGSer.com or anyone organising an event posted here will not be held responsible in any way for damage or personal injury sustained while attending any such events.

Members attending any such event do so at their own risk.

The text, images, graphics, sound files, animation files, video files, and their arrangement on this Website are all subject to copyright and other intellectual property protection. These objects may not be copied for commercial use or distribution, nor may these objects be modified or reposted to other sites without prior written permission.

Disclaimer: Use or depiction of the BMW logo or trademark throughout this web site is for illustrative and editorial purposes only, and to the benefit of the trademark owner, with no intention of infringement of the trademark.

The UKGSer Forums may include adult content for which it cannot be held responsible. Your use of this website constitutes acceptance of the UKGSER network privacy policy



UKGSer is....

"A vent, a source of info, a source of bullshit, a source of humour and in the coming months, possibly a source of sanity." Big Lad March 2020

"I have always known this community is full good people even if most of you cover it up with piss n vinegar" Chad 2018

"Its about being a grown up hooligan - and if that means a dark visor, remus open pipe and a bit of speeding out of town then all well and good" Kaister 2005