2008 GSA timing adjustment?

magic dave

Reaction score
Hi. I'm no mechanic so I'm asking this verbatim from my mechanic and fellow biker friend.
We decided to change the right hand chain tensioner as I have just done the left one and thought it wouldn't hurt. Mistake. Looks like someone had been there before, had trouble, and fitted a helicoil. That's now damaged getting the tensioner out. So head off, barrel off, went to an engineer shop and he's made a new sleeve with a hole that lines up for oil flow. I would point out that the sleeve runs the length of the tensioner, so the space between the tensioner below the thread and the side of the barrel is reduced.
Put it all back together and that cylinder will not run properly. By disconnecting the left coils I've determined that it is actually firing, but only under some throttle and very lumpy. It feels and sounds like it's massively out of time. Can you change the timing on one side? The chain was zip tied to the cam gear and the cam gear has a notch to locate it on the end of the camshaft. With the cylinder at TDC and the valves closed (adjusters loose) and the locating pin in the back of the flywheel the cam sensor is at 9 o clock and the arrow on the gear is 3 o clock as per the manual.
As far as I can see the engine is in time. So there's 3 scenarios that are possible I think?

1. It's not in time and there's an adjustment I haven't found.
2. The reduced space around the bottom of the tensioner is reducing oil flow to the plunger - would that put the chain out of time?
3. There's a piston ring that hasn't gone on properly and it's losing compression?

I'm pretty desperate. Spent days chasing myself in circles. Thanks for any thoughts.

the ignition timing is not adjustable (the engine management does it all)