oil on rear tyre - Drive leak.....what to do....

Treeman

UKGSer Subscriber
Reaction score
I'm relatively new to my R1200GS so not that familiar with it and it's my first shaft drive. After returning from a trip to France this month I noticed some oil had dropped onto the rear tyre. Then crawling underneath I notice a few drops about to fall from the shaft drive housing.

I've put on a few pics to show.

I'm guessing a leak from the shaft drive mechanism - is this a big/common problem? Would it be advisable to top up the read final drive part before driving any further or to the dealer (if that is where it is coming from?)

Is this something a hopefully competent owner like myself could rectify?

Any advice appreciated.
R12%20TYRE%20OIL.jpg

R12%20OIL%20LEAK.jpg

Unusual, and obviously not a good sign.
Others on here will have some idea of what to do...:rob

That could be either the Gearbox output seal OR the Final drive

Take out the filler plug on the gearbox and see if its way below the lower edge

If it is you have your answer

To work out if its from the final drive you will have to tell us what year it is So we can tell you the appropriate method of checking oil volume

As to riding on with oil on the rear wheel ???

That is a bit of a recipe for disaster

Mine had a small weep on the gearbox seal but main leak was in the wheel bearing looked just like this. Check for side play at the wheel rim. If its excessive you've almost certainly found the cause.

If it is the gearbox you need to get the swing arm off the bike and remove the seal with a self tapping screw. Its not much more work to remove the FD so either way you have some spattering to do.