New R1200GS owner

Old Gregg

Hello all. Another newbie on the site.

I picked up my new R1200GS on Saturday from Alan Jeffries BMW in Shipley, West Yorkshire. It's a bit of a change for me as I traded an imaculate 2006 anniversary model Yamaha R1 for the big GS and rather surprisingly I do not regret it, (yet!)
I ride every day to work and the R1 was a sunny weather only bike so I used my wife's 2005 ZX-6R for the daily commute as it wasn't as skittish as the R1. I'm a mechanical engineer at an engineering consultancy in Leeds and often have to visit sites, (usually in the midlands), and if I needed full CDM gear I had to take the car. I did go to Wolverhampton and back on the Ninja and couldn't walk for two days afterwards as my knees were so sore! It was time for a change.
I've always liked the GS but always considered it an'old man's' bike. After trying it out for a couple of hours I was converted and had to have one so I bought one of Alan Jeffries Demo bikes. It is a 4 month old, (58 plate) slate grey GS with 1400 miles on it. It has all the options ticked; heated grips, ESA, ASC, ABS, computer etc. The only thing it doesn't have is spoked wheels which I can live with. I bought a set of BMW panniers for luggage carrying on visits to site and I can't wait to get going on it!
Unfortunately the weather isn't playing ball and due to a fair bit of snow yesterday and today, so I've only been out to play on it once. I'm now trying to decide on a nice long run out on it. Any suggestions?

I've been a member of the R1 forum for 3 years and it's an excellent site. I hope this site is as friendly as that one.

Cheers.

Hi Greg welcome along, I hope that you enjoy your stay here as much as you`ll enjoy your new GS......:thumb

Welcome to the site :beerjug:

It'll be interesting to see how you feel it compares to the R1 once you've got some miles on the GS (I don't think you'll be disapointed :))

Andres