9 days in France solo - my first bike tour

Bury_Dave

Reaction score
This is my first attempt at a bike report so please forgive me if i either ramble too much or don't give enough of the right kind of detail.

I'll do it a bit at a time or it'll be Christmas before any of it gets on here !

Here goes. Constructive criticism please !

May / June 2011 Ride Report

Mentioned elsewhere are the trials of my having to get my GSA de-ABS / servo’d as well as my original plans having to change due to a bullshitting ex-colleague who didn’t book a fecking thing. This trip became a 9-day, no plans, no route thing with only the need to spend a couple of nights at some point in Geneva to see some old mates still working at CERN.

It was a fantastic trip and, despite some schoolboy errors and some time to get to grips with using the Garmin for things other than fastest time or shortest distance to a known destination (difficult when you don’t have one!). My only mistake was not taking a larger tent and warmer sleeping bag. You’ll see why further down the post .......

Kit-wise I took the following :- bike  , helmet, textile suit, boots, gloves.
Tent (one-man), sleeping mat, sleeping bag – that’s me house sorted out !
Wash kit, towel – dhobie sorted
Jeans, shorts, 2 pr sock, 2 pr boxers, wool thermal, short sleeve shirt, T-shirt, trunks – clobber done
Insect repellent, flashlight, pain-killers, knife, toolkit, compressor, puncture kit.
I had everything in the two panniers and the topbox just had a spare daysack in it.

Thursday 09:15, left Bury St Edmunds for the long, stunningly boring ride down to the Tunnel. Windy, overcast with some light rain on the way down. Hope this isn’t a foretaste of a serious change in weather as it is still early in the year for a tour including mountains ......

Bike in the tunnel train. Crossing time was about 11:20. Remembered to change watch and clock.

IMG_0438-1.jpg