Is this one of they Scam things please

(RIP) Geriatric Germ

Registered user
Joined
Mar 16, 2003
Messages
2,955
Reaction score
1
Location
Location-Location
Had an acceptance of a Cheeeeaaaap as Chips K1200LTSE, based in Lon Don but the email seems to be Africa? Is it? Thanks

X-Apparently-To: [email protected] via 217.12.12.63; Wed, 02 Feb 2005 11:50:13 +0000
Authentication-Results: mta801.mail.ukl.yahoo.com
from=afrol.com; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
X-Originating-IP: [216.200.145.37]
Return-Path: <[email protected]>
Received: from 216.200.145.37 (EHLO omta08.mta.everyone.net) (216.200.145.37)
by mta801.mail.ukl.yahoo.com with SMTP; Wed, 02 Feb 2005 11:50:13 +0000
Received: from sitemail.everyone.net (bigiplb-dsnat [172.16.0.19])
by omta08.mta.everyone.net (Postfix) with ESMTP id 8FBA940A7D
for <[email protected]>; Wed, 2 Feb 2005 03:50:12 -0800 (PST)
Received: by sitemail.everyone.net (Postfix, from userid 99)
id 80F6A37CF3; Wed, 2 Feb 2005 03:50:12 -0800 (PST)
Content-Type: text/html; charset="UTF-8"
Content-Disposition: inline
Content-Transfer-Encoding: quoted-printable
Mime-Version: 1.0
X-Mailer: MIME-tools 5.41 (Entity 5.404)
Date: Wed, 2 Feb 2005 03:50:11 -0800 (PST)
From: John Carry <[email protected]>
To: [email protected]
Subject: Re: about the payment
Reply-To: [email protected]
X-Originating-Ip: [82.77.204.106]
X-Eon-Sig: AQIrk+1CAL50AAHLnQEAAAAB,d92e0af1384c837f73d0eddfbf974803
 
Thanks Mike

I thought £4,500 for a 12 month K12LTSE was Cheeep :rolleyes:

I did reply with this:-

Hi, the only way I will part with any money is when the bike is between my legs and the full documentation is in my pocket, hope this is agreeable. Look forward to a speedy conclusion.
 
Waste of space, I know.

This is his reply:-

i think you are a scammer and you want to trick me.you want to send you the bike and the documents and never pay me.i can not .but if you not a sccamer i have a propose:Look for your we will use TNT services.Here
is how they work:
first i will give them the package containing the goods ... you will also have to make the payment through a service chosen by the seller and give them all the payment informations .. Once they will have the package and the payment informations they will check the goods if everything is in order with them and the payment if the money are safe.The they will deliver the package to the buyer's address and name and if he will considere to keep the goods they will release the seller all the payment informations.If the buyer wont agree to keep the goods they will ship the package back to the seller and never forward him the payment informations .I think this protect both of us and i think that if you are a serious person you will accept to make the transaction through this service.
Ohhh i forgot to tell you that once the package is in their custody you will be informed through email system and they will confirm the
shipment to you ..
Thanks and please reply me back .. asap .. with your full name and
address and zip code too if you like to proceed using this service.
 
Re: Waste of space, I know.

rcc54 said:
Look for your we will use TNT services.Here
is how they work:
first i will give them the package containing the goods ..

What a muppet. Like TNT are going to deliver a wrapped up motorcycle. He might have a sense of humour, and be selling a model one though!
 
This is definately a scam. I have seen similar mails on numerous occassions over the last 12 months. All offer to use international shipping companies and I have even seen shipping dockets sent as proof of despatch - unfortunately the shipper puts an example of their shipping docket on their website and this can be downloaded and 'ammended' in photoshop or a similar programme.

The mail servers are probably in Germany but it looks to me that the mail originates from Bucharest - which IP address gves you the African connection Mike ?


Clive
 
FFS!

i recognise the grammar!
i got one of those a while ago in response to my ad for the Triumph.
got my hopes up....very briefly
:rolleyes:
Og.
 
If he's in London, then offer to meet him to look at the bike. If he says he can't make it, offer to meet one of his mates. I think the prospect of a face-to-face meeting will make him either hold or fold.
 
" quote:Originally posted by Clive795
which IP address gves you the African connection Mike ?
Clive


This may explain, I think."


rcc54,
I have had a look at your link, yes the web page has African links but my point is that the mail appears to have been sent from Bucharest. It is a bit like looking at the Hotmail homepage and assuming that all Hotmail account holders are in the US.
Having said that it could be that the mail has gone via an anonymous proxy server in Romania (a lot of spam mails and phishing mails show Romania as the source)


Clive
 
Mike thats right,
if you 'ping' afrol.com then do a lookup on them the address resolves to a web hosting company in Germany (Munich I think)


Clive
 


Back
Top Bottom